It is currently Sat May 25, 2019 7:23 pm

All times are UTC

Post subject: Like to make a "run Junos on GNS3 for Absolute beginners"
PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2011 3:23 pm 

As the title says.

Problem. I am the absolute beginner.

If someone with patience, and no God-complex is willing to help someone get through some of the steps, I will make a truly for-beginners-How-to, as I did with Gns3 in my blog.

http://www.ccnporbust.blogspot.com

I am a CCNA, but that doesn't imply that I have any real Linux skills, and I am even lacking in some PC skills, such as Partitioning, etc. Not a total imbecile, and was able to struggle my way through making a hackintosh work out of a Precision laptop, so I can muddle through some things.

This isn't just for the heck of it, as I am in Cisco, Juniper, Alcatel, and many other devices every day at work in a simply monitoring role(For the Junipers). I'd like to be able to make this simpler, but in looking through several of the how-to's I am realizing that I do lack the experience to even know exactly what people are referring to in some of the steps or what OS they are even in when they are setting commands. I spent a long time in the field working mostly at layer 1, and have only been really working on the logical side for the last 4-5 years. I work in a fairly busy National Transport NOC, so have a grasp on some of this, but not most.

It's likely that I could probably get a hold of a live Juniper device to make this a moot point, but figuring this process out seems like skills I should have, and I'd like to make it simpler for others following.

In return, If someone wants to know how to build, Test, or monitor a TDM or Ethernet circuit in Cisco CTM/CTC, or Alcatel SAM, or use a JDSU test set, React/Spirent Test suite, etc. Learning to splice fiber/Copper/Coax ?, I should be able to help. ;-)

My setup:

Windows Vista 64bit Business main computer running GNS3