It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:20 pm

All times are UTC

Post subject: Win8.1 - No Internet Access Behind Routers
PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2014 3:26 am 

Hey Everyone,

I'm a newbie to GNS3, so I apologize in advance if I'm missing something obvious. I can't seem to get devices (VBox VMs) behind my router in GNS3 to reach the internet. I'm running Windows 8.1 Pro x64, GNS 3 0.8.6, and Oracle VBox 4.1.32 r92798. Here’s my logical configuration:

Local Area Connection (on physical NIC with ICS to loopback) – 10.1.13.2 > loopback adapter (192.168.137.1) > GNS Cloud (with loopback adapter added) > R1 (g1/0 – 192.168.137.2 | g2/0 – 192.168.1.1) > XP VM (e1 – 192.168.1.2)

Initially, I couldn’t ping 192.168.137.1 (loopback adapter) from R1. Turned out to be a firewall rule. Had to change “unidentified networks” to a private network profile or change firewall rules. I opted for the first option. That fixed ping from R1. I am able to ping loopback and 8.8.8.8 from R1, however, I can’t ping loopback or internet from anything beyond R1. I captured packets between R1 and loopback and ICMP requests are going, but I never get a reply, like the loopback adapter is dropping the traffic or it’s hitting a firewall somewhere or there's some kind of routing issue.

Any recommendations on how I can troubleshoot/resolve this? Thanks in advance for your help/time.

Best Regards,
LearningToNetwork101

Post subject: Re: Win8.1 - No Internet Access Behind Routers
PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2014 7:27 pm 

I'm having the exact problem. I'm assuming the problem is because you & I are using inside local ip addresses (not public IPs) so the ISP is dropping the packets, which is why you need NAT but then again my attempts at this are failing with NAT so whenever you find the answer I should be able to fix my problem.