It is currently Thu Jul 24, 2014 3:20 pm

All times are UTC

Post subject: EtherSwitch Router - Can't ping itself
PostPosted: Wed Oct 02, 2013 11:35 pm 

I dropped a c3700 router onto the work space. Noticed it had 0/0 and 0/1, and 1/0-1/15 already installed. Configured, but wouldn't work for a simple router on the stick config. Did some searching in forums, found that it might now have the dang NM-16ESW module installed!?!? So I check, and it doesn't, so what the heck was I even configuring? Screwy...

Next, I add NM-16ESW to slot 1, and I couldn't remove the GT96100-FE installed in Slot 0 that another poster mentioned to do. Reloaded router. Still no good, can't ping itself.

What am I missing here...this is like the easiest thing to do, ping one's self, but I can't??

This is my first time using this product, and I am already disgusted with GNS3's behavior. Is every step going to be like this, or is this just a fluke?

Thank you in advance

Post subject: Re: EtherSwitch Router - Can't ping itself
PostPosted: Thu Oct 03, 2013 9:23 am 

CalGuY wrote:
I dropped a c3700 router onto the work space. Noticed it had 0/0 and 0/1, and 1/0-1/15 already installed. Configured, but wouldn't work for a simple router on the stick config. Did some searching in forums, found that it might now have the dang NM-16ESW module installed!?!? So I check, and it doesn't, so what the heck was I even configuring? Screwy...
What version of GNS3 are you using? Did you drag a c3700 router or an EtherSwitch Router?

CalGuY wrote:
Next, I add NM-16ESW to slot 1, and I couldn't remove the GT96100-FE installed in Slot 0 that another poster mentioned to do. Reloaded router. Still no good, can't ping itself.
The GT96100-FE can't be removed as this is mainboard of the router. This is the same as a physical c3700.

CalGuY wrote:
What am I missing here...this is like the easiest thing to do, ping one's self, but I can't??