It is currently Tue Apr 23, 2019 10:40 am

All times are UTC

Post subject: Cannot save VLAN config
PostPosted: Sat Nov 23, 2013 11:32 pm 

Hi, I am new to GNS3..I am using Cisco2600 router images in this tool studying for CCNA. I am able to save my configs and open GNS3 later with no problem. However, when I do anything with VLANS it is not saving this part of the config. I did some searching and found you when starting your project you should check the box for "save nvrams including EtherSwitch VLANs and crypto keys" option". So I selected this, but when I close GNS 3 then launch it later, all of my routers/switches can no longer start. The topology loads, but when I try to start a 2600 router/switch I get this error:

"GNS3 management console. Running GNS3 version 0.8.6.
Copyright (c) 2006-2013 GNS3 Project.

=> Cannot start router R1: lost communication with server 127.0.0.1:7200" in the console.

If I don't select to save nvrams option, i can re-launch the project later with no issues. I only get this error when I try to save the NVRAMs part....Is there a setting/config I can do in GNS3 to save my VLAN info so I don't have to keep reconfiguring it when I launch it again? Let me know, thanks!

Post subject: Re: Cannot save VLAN config
PostPosted: Sun Nov 24, 2013 11:37 am 

[Edit - I was tired :)]If you start a new project in GNS3 0.8.6 onwards, you should NOT have to check the "Save NVRAMS checkbox" anymore.

But it worries me that you say 2600 - if you have an image for a 3725 or 3600 I would recommend you use those models rather than 2600.

GNS3 WorkBench-a VMware image of Ubuntu with GNS3 and VPCS installed and a collection of exercises/labs

PostPosted: Sun Nov 24, 2013 6:23 pm