GNS3
http://forum.gns3.net/

HOWTO connect Vmware virtual machine to your lab in GNS3
http://forum.gns3.net/topic1139.html
Page 1 of 4

Author:  kaage [ Sun Sep 06, 2009 9:31 am ]
Post subject:  HOWTO connect Vmware virtual machine to your lab in GNS3

1. Select network adapter "Host only" to your Virtual machine in Vmware
2. Check from Windows Network connections how this network adapter (vmnet1) is named.
3. Add cloud to your workspace in GNS3
4. Configure cloud and select the network adapter you just checked from Windows Network connections menu.
  • Right Click cloud and select Configure
  • Select your cloud C0
  • Select NIO Ethernet
  • Select Generic Ethernet NIO
  • Select appropriate adapter from drop-down menu and press Add button

5. Connect cloud to your topology. (For example to router)
6. Assing IP addresses from same subnet to the Virtual Machine and to emulated router in GNS3.
7. Ping between router and virtual machine should be successful.

Author:  ieee2 [ Mon Sep 14, 2009 10:33 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: HOWTO connect Vmware virtual machine to your lab in GNS3

Quote:
Configure cloud and select the network adapter you just checked from Windows Network connections menu.


Can you please clarify more how to configure the cloud ? Which tab? what should I add in the tab??

Author:  kaage [ Tue Sep 15, 2009 7:40 am ]
Post subject:  Re: HOWTO connect Vmware virtual machine to your lab in GNS3

Hi

I modified my original post.

Author:  ghanthor [ Sat Nov 28, 2009 3:33 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: HOWTO connect Vmware virtual machine to your lab in GNS3

I have tried as kaage has written but it still does not work. I was wondering if you have any tips for troubleshooting this.
Short info:
I am running GNS3 0.6.1 on Ubuntu 9.10 and latest VMWare server with VM's

my topology is as follows:

[LAN]---[Eth0]------[C0]------[R0]------[C1]-----[vmnet]----[vm's]

I have tried connecting my VM's to both host only and VMNat adapters, and the vm can successfully ping the vmnet adapter....with vmnat even through to the Internet via my LAN. The router R0 can ping Eth0.
However, R0 can not ping through C1 to the vmnet adapter or vm connected to it.

The strange thing is that I had it working once, via VMNAT, but suddenly it stopped. Unfortunately I did not notice at once as my host was running at 100% load. The host crashed and I had to turn it off. It was after powerup the next day I discovered that the connection between vmnet and gns was not working anymore and tried going through a Hostonly setup as described in your post. Yet no luck. I have run vmware-config.pl acouple of times to see if reconfiguring vmware helped..but no luck.

So as stated earlier if anyone has any tips for getting this solved I would much appreciate it.

Thaks in advance.

Author:  kaage [ Sat Nov 28, 2009 9:23 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: HOWTO connect Vmware virtual machine to your lab in GNS3

I have noticed one problem when using clouds. If you have cloud and binded some NIO interface to it and after that you noticed that you should select another one instead of first one and then you change it. And it will not work at all. When ever you are changing the configuration of cloud, you should delete existing cloud from workspace and drop new one.

So if you have saved project try to remove c1 and add and configure it again.

Author:  benlrivera [ Tue Jan 05, 2010 8:49 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: HOWTO connect Vmware virtual machine to your lab in GNS3

Has anyone tried this on Windows 7. I have VMware workstation 7, GNS3 0.7 & when I try to configure the cloud I do not get the interface from VMWare. If so how did you get it working. I have seen people have had problems with Vista and they went back to XP. Just wonder if there is problems with Windows 7.

Thanks for all your help.

Author:  benlrivera [ Wed Jan 06, 2010 9:42 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: HOWTO connect Vmware virtual machine to your lab in GNS3

I just read another post and it said run gns3 as administrator. Right gns3 icon, select "Run as administrator". Now I see the interfaces when I configure the cloud.

Author:  carioca390 [ Sun Jan 10, 2010 7:13 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: HOWTO connect Vmware virtual machine to your lab in GNS3

I had the same problem when Itried to configure the cloud and the new interface that I just added at vmware didn't show up, so I restart my windows 7 and it worked!!!

Hope it works for you too! =)

Author:  stm [ Wed Jan 13, 2010 2:33 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: HOWTO connect Vmware virtual machine to your lab in GNS3

[quote="carioca390"]I had the same problem when Itried to configure the cloud and the new interface that I just added at vmware didn't show up, so I restart my windows 7 and it worked!!!

Hope it works for you too! =)[/quote]

Same issue and same solution when running my Vista Notebook: A reboot is required to see the recently added VMware adapter in GNS3.

Stefan

Author:  xblain [ Wed Feb 03, 2010 10:01 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: HOWTO connect Vmware virtual machine to your lab in GNS3

Hey all ,

didn't saw this topic before.

I just finished configuring GNS3 with VirtualBox and wrote some HOWTO about this in my blog.
It`s much like what kaage explains here but with more details and some print screens :)

Look if It can help you:

www.altbiz.wordpress.com

Page 1 of 4 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/