GNS3
http://forum.gns3.net/

How to run Linux MLS switch in GNS3
http://forum.gns3.net/topic2403.html
Page 1 of 5

Author:  brezular [ Fri Jul 30, 2010 11:11 pm ]
Post subject:  How to run Linux MLS switch in GNS3

Hi,

Quote:
LiSA , short for Linux Switching Appliance, is an open-source software project built for the GNU/Linux operating system that aims to provide its users with all the necessary instruments for implementing and maintaining an eficient and reliable switching solution at a low cost.

The project was designed to be used in medium and small-sized networks. As opposed to usual hardware-driven implementations, LiSA offers a software approach to switching by utilizing the Linux Kernel networking stack and adding its own switch-specic functionality.

Since LiSA is practically a software implementation of what normally is a hardware-based logic, it might seem that there is no advantage in using it. On the contrary, LiSA provides several benets that hardware implementations do not have.

Many of these advantages stem from the fact that it is based on the Linux operating system.
First of all this means it is not tied to a specic hardware architecture. It is only limited to the architectures supported by Linux, of which we mention : ARM, x86, MIPS, PowerPC and many more2.
Secondly, it is not dependant on the network hardware. As long as there is a Linux device driver for the specic NIC which LiSA is supposed to handle, no problems will be encountered.
Finally, Linux is well-known for its ability to run well on older systems and on embedded devices, that is, devices that have important resource constraints. This provides an advantage since one of LiSA's main objectives is to run on such devices.

The project will not compete with Cisco (we could not do that anyway :P) but should provide a cost-effective advanced-featured solution for small networks.

LISA can do both L2 and L3 switching and configuration is similar to Cisco IOS.
The LISA Project page:
Quote:
http://lisa.mindbit.ro/

Documentation:
http://brezular.com/2010/09/25/lisa/
http://lisa.mindbit.ro/download/lisa/doc/lisa-roedu-paper.pdf
http://lisa.mindbit.ro/download/lisa/doc/lisa-rstp.pdf

I created Qemu and VirtualBox images with CentOS Linux and LISA installed. I used pre-built rpm packages from the LISA Project but you can compile it by your own.

http://brezular.com/2013/09/20/linux-switching-appliance-lisa-download/

Login/password: root/password


Cheers,

Attachments:
topology.png
topology.png [ 109.59 KiB | Viewed 21510 times ]

Author:  grossmj [ Fri Jul 30, 2010 11:44 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How to run Linux MLS switch in GNS3

Wow, great job! and thanks for sharing :)

Author:  mprofitt [ Sat Jul 31, 2010 12:05 am ]
Post subject:  Re: How to run Linux MLS switch in GNS3

Nice contribution! I am gonna try this out.

Thanks

Author:  SARS [ Wed Aug 04, 2010 9:56 am ]
Post subject:  Re: How to run Linux MLS switch in GNS3

Could I connect this switch by console?

Author:  brezular [ Wed Aug 11, 2010 9:22 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How to run Linux MLS switch in GNS3

Hi,

Quote:
Could I connect this switch by console?


Yes. I added support to login via console to the new lisa-centos2.0.2 image. Now you can use console in GNS3 (Right click on Qemu device -> Console) or telnet to IP and port on which is lisa image running.

I added point 11. Configure LISA to support serial console login to the tutorial and the new lisa-centos image with console support is available for download in the tutorial above.

Cheers,

Author:  SARS [ Thu Aug 12, 2010 10:02 am ]
Post subject:  Re: How to run Linux MLS switch in GNS3

Thank brezular. You're rock :D

Author:  da23ad [ Sat Aug 14, 2010 7:36 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How to run Linux MLS switch in GNS3

Looks promising ...

not working for me.... must be something im not doing well.....

Author:  da23ad [ Sun Aug 15, 2010 6:38 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How to run Linux MLS switch in GNS3

when I run it , here is all I get ....

Attachments:
lisa.jpg
lisa.jpg [ 75.53 KiB | Viewed 20787 times ]

Author:  brezular [ Sun Aug 15, 2010 7:48 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How to run Linux MLS switch in GNS3

Hi,
Quote:
when I run it , here is all I get ....


1) How much time did you wait? I ask because when qemu starts telnet server you cannot see boot proccess in qemu window. Only login prompt should appear after CentOS properly boots (and it takes about 2-3 minutes).

If you like to see whole boot process - right click on Qemu host -> Console. The new window appears in which you will see complete CentOS boot.

2) How many RAM did you set for image? Check it, please -> 256 MB should be enough.

Cheers,

Author:  da23ad [ Sun Aug 15, 2010 8:19 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How to run Linux MLS switch in GNS3

brezular wrote:
Hi,
Quote:
when I run it , here is all I get ....


1) How much time did you wait? I ask because when qemu starts telnet server you cannot see boot proccess in qemu window. Only login prompt should appear after CentOS properly boots (and it takes about 2-3 minutes).

If you like to see whole boot process - right click on Qemu host -> Console. The new window appears in which you will see complete CentOS boot.

2) How many RAM did you set for image? Check it, please -> 256 MB should be enough.

Cheers,


That message appears as soon as I run the host and then nothing else happens ..... the RAM is set to 256 .....
Here is the config page of my QEmu host

Attachments:
lisa2.jpg
lisa2.jpg [ 107.59 KiB | Viewed 20878 times ]

Page 1 of 5 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/