GNS3
http://forum.gns3.net/

ASA 8.02 - Good old FW, but full tuned
http://forum.gns3.net/topic2784-60.html
Page 7 of 10

Author:  jchan [ Thu Jul 28, 2011 9:17 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: ASA 8.02 - Good old FW, but full tuned

Thanks for the excellent post and all your hard work!!!

Topology:
ASA-e0/3------->port 1-EtherSwitch-port 2----------->Cloud (MS loopback for ASDM access)

Question:
When I was in "Single" mode, I can ping to ASA's inside interface and was able to access ASA via ASDM;

However, when I was in "Multi mode", I configured admin context for ASDM access, but I can not ping to admin context's inside interface nor ASDM to it. Anyone can help?

I was using the same setup for single and multi mode; Single mode was working fine but not the Multi mode.

Just curious, does anyone able to run ASDM in multi mode using the provided "tuned ASA"?

Author:  jchan [ Fri Jul 29, 2011 2:03 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: ASA 8.02 - Good old FW, but full tuned

I found the problem, it was the "mac-address auto", someone was mentioned this in previous post also, once it was disabled, ping went through with no problem.

In multi context mode, I was also able to send traffic from inside to outside within the context, ping and telnet were working fine.

Will try the ASDM next...

Author:  jchan [ Sat Jul 30, 2011 3:35 am ]
Post subject:  Re: ASA 8.02 - Good old FW, but full tuned

I tried configuring ASA in single / firewall transparent mode, once I did that I received below error messages, in addition, traffic was not getting through ASA from inside to outside.

ASA1-Single(config)# firewall transparent
WARNING: Config register and NV boot data structure damaged, it has been recreated.

Failed to write offset 218 to IDPROM ARRAY slot 0,I2C addr 0x4, dev 0xb0, error 7ERROR: Password recovery was not changed, unable to access
the configuration register.
ciscoasa(config)#

Can someone confirm that firewall transparent mode is not supported in this version of ASA?

Thanks!

Author:  bhavinjbhatt [ Wed Aug 03, 2011 11:01 am ]
Post subject:  Re: ASA 8.02 - Good old FW, but full tuned

hI aLL,
Has anyone tried running two ASAs in gns3 0.7.1 , on fedora...i can boot both with no errors, but can get only one working.
Regards
Bhavin

Author:  jchan [ Fri Aug 05, 2011 6:20 am ]
Post subject:  Re: ASA 8.02 - Good old FW, but full tuned

I am running two ASAs in gns3 0.7.4 on windows 7, both ASAs are working fine, I can send traffic in/out both ASAs with no issue.

Author:  jchan [ Sat Oct 01, 2011 11:02 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: ASA 8.02 - Good old FW, but full tuned

HI,

For some reasons, I don't see the menu option screen anymore, my ASA always boot up in Single mode. Question - how to force ASA goes to the menu option screen when it boots up?

=====================[ Rebuild on 23 Dec 2010, by N!NiX ]===================
= Cisco ASA5520 - ASDM without Proxy - Multiple Security Contexts - WebVPN =
= ( Powered by Jeremy Grossmann, Pedro Flor, nekkro-kvlt, NiNiX ) =
= ( Forums: 7200emu.hacki.at, www.gns3.net/phpBB, blog.gns3.net ) =
============================================================================

============================================================================
=======================[ Booting ASA in single mode ]=======================
============================================================================

Author:  jchan [ Sun Oct 02, 2011 12:15 am ]
Post subject:  Re: ASA 8.02 - Good old FW, but full tuned

Question - how to force ASA goes to the menu option screen when it boots up?

I figured it out. delete the "NO_LINUX_BOOT_MENU" as shown below:

ciscoasa# delete disk0:/.private/NO_LINUX_BOOT_MENU

Delete filename [/.private/NO_LINUX_BOOT_MENU]?

Delete disk0:/.private/NO_LINUX_BOOT_MENU? [confirm]

then reboot, ASA will boot to the menu option screen.

Author:  jchan [ Sat Oct 22, 2011 4:42 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: ASA 8.02 - Good old FW, but full tuned

I know you can change the Flash Memory size on GNS3's menu, but just curious, is there a way to change the Memory size from RAM size 128MB to 256MB as shown below?

Hardware: ASA5520, 128 MB RAM, CPU Pentium II 2000 MHzCPU Pentium II 2836 MHz

Author:  tranzitwww [ Fri Oct 28, 2011 9:38 am ]
Post subject:  Re: ASA 8.02 - Good old FW, but full tuned

jchan wrote:
I know you can change the Flash Memory size on GNS3's menu, but just curious, is there a way to change the Memory size from RAM size 128MB to 256MB as shown below?

Hardware: ASA5520, 128 MB RAM, CPU Pentium II 2000 MHzCPU Pentium II 2836 MHz

Well, that is just a string inside "lina" program, and is used only to trick ASDM to load properly in emulated environment (ASDM is doing a 'show version' to discover the type of a device)...
For more info check http://7200emu.hacki.at/viewtopic.php?t ... sc&start=0

Author:  jchan [ Thu Nov 10, 2011 3:21 am ]
Post subject:  Re: ASA 8.02 - Good old FW, but full tuned

efeohimor wrote:
Thanks everyone for sharing your knowledge. I have been able to follow the instructions in the posts on this thread and got the ASA working even with ASDM without fiddler. Infact the GNS has been very useful as I have used it to gain confidence configuring ASA from scratch.

Unfortunately, I have been trying to configure webvpn and I discover that qemu crashes once I enable webvpn on any interface. I would really like to know if anyone have used the files in this thread to get webvpn working. If so, I would appreciate some assistance. Thanks in advance.



I just tested the webvpn, first attempt, it failed ERROR - unable to open webvpn, it seems ASA can not allocated enough memory to run the process, so I increased the RAM size from 192 to 256;
Started the webvpn process again, this time, it works fine. I was able to configure it, http to web portal and login using local username and password.

Page 7 of 10 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/