GNS3
http://forum.gns3.net/

The Illusive Art of Acquiring A Good Idle-PC Value
http://forum.gns3.net/topic2873-20.html
Page 3 of 3

Author:  rednectar [ Tue Jan 31, 2012 9:50 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: The Illusive Art of Acquiring A Good Idle-PC Value

Thanks for taking the time to submit such a detailed answer. In the light of your investigations I'll edit my original post to hopefully clear up any confusion it may have caused.

Author:  grossmj [ Thu Feb 02, 2012 1:54 am ]
Post subject:  Re: The Illusive Art of Acquiring A Good Idle-PC Value

Thanks for this howto and discussion. I'll use this to improve our official tutorial.

Author:  instant000 [ Mon Feb 06, 2012 8:45 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: The Illusive Art of Acquiring A Good Idle-PC Value

Just another add-on, I saw this post by Greg at the hack forums back in 2006. If you read the thread, he encounters a responder who asks about doing some stuff to the router first, then setting idle-pc, and Greg basically tells him that if he did that, then the router would only be considered idle once it was at the # prompt (which is what I was trying to say, but Greg gave a much shorter answer).

http://7200emu.hacki.at/viewtopic.php?t=364

Hope this helps.

Author:  study4fr33 [ Thu Aug 16, 2012 10:39 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: The Illusive Art of Acquiring A Good Idle-PC Value

I found something very interesting in Ubuntu. Unless you log on every console of every IOS device you have started (although seems kinda similar for ASA) and hit ENTER the CPU usage stays extremely high. The moment you get at least 1 line response on the console you are good to go. I guess you need to keep yourself logged througout the whole session but this isn't a big issue.

Author:  chamjisky [ Sat Jul 27, 2013 4:36 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: The Illusive Art of Acquiring A Good Idle-PC Value

what is the base image configs ?
what it does ?

are they a list of commands that are to be executed at startup of the router ?
if it is that then my ios is assigned a base config file in the ios settings but it is not executing all the commands .. especial the

line console 0
exec-timeout 0


... basically i am using 7200 series route and as soon as i boot them all my cpu utilization hits at 100 % and then i have to go to the console of each rotuer and press enter .. only doing that drops the cpu utilization to 1-2% ..

so i want these commands/tricks to be applied from the beginning ..

Author:  nickbeee [ Sat Jul 27, 2013 5:21 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: The Illusive Art of Acquiring A Good Idle-PC Value

chamjisky wrote:
what is the base image configs ?
what it does?
so i want these commands/tricks to be applied from the beginning ..


Baseconfig.txt is in your GNS3 folder but needs to be configured for each IOS.

Code:
!
hostname %h
!
no ip domain lookup
no ip icmp rate-limit unreachable
ip tcp synwait 5
!
line con 0
exec-timeout 0 0
logging synchronous
privilege level 15
no login
line aux 0
exec-timeout 0 0
logging synchronous
privilege level 15
no login
!
!
end


Attachment:
capture_001_27072013_181735.jpg
capture_001_27072013_181735.jpg [ 84.29 KiB | Viewed 21517 times ]


HTH,
Nick.

Author:  chamjisky [ Sat Jul 27, 2013 5:47 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: The Illusive Art of Acquiring A Good Idle-PC Value

thanks for the reply .. actually i wanted to know what it is not where it is ..
and most importantly what it does ?

another question is that when i fire up all routers in my topology my cpu hits 100% and i have to manully press enter key in each console .. only then it settles at 0-2% ..

so can i use this for that purpose ? or is there nay thing that should not make me press the enter key .. cause its hell sluggish at that time and each time i click on any console windows it takes few seconds to respond ..

i am using xshell 4

Author:  rednectar [ Sat Jul 27, 2013 9:00 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: The Illusive Art of Acquiring A Good Idle-PC Value

baseconfig.txt lives in your Images directory by default (Look closely at the graphic above you will see that in that case it was D:\GNS3-Common\Images\baseconfig.txt)

By default, your Images directory will be ~/GNS3/Images or %HOMEPATH%\GNS3\Images

Although, as nickbeee says, each image can have a different file - it doesn't HAVE to be called baseconfig.txt (EXCEPTION - the Switch-router base config MUST be called baseconfig-sw.txt and MUST live in the Images directory and MUST be suitable for a c3725)

Also, by default, your baseconfig.txt WILL have the commands you want

line console 0
exec-timeout 0

(See nickbee's example)

Your problem is that you need to go to each machine and Press ENTER on each router to drop the CPU. That has nothing to do with the config. To do that, you have to make your terminal application send a RETURN character or two as it starts up. Must work has been done on this by tranzitwww (topic4859.html ) by writing scripts that are used to invoke the console application and send some chr(13)s to it, but nothing has been written for xshell 4. (I'm sure if you worked out exactly how to do it for xshell 4, and posted it back as a HOWTO on this forum other users would appreciate it )

I suggest you experiment with say SuperPutty or even TeraTerm to start with to see how he's managed to achieve teh CR send sequence in those apps, then adapte it to xterm 4

Author:  roni [ Mon Mar 31, 2014 7:18 am ]
Post subject:  Re: The Illusive Art of Acquiring A Good Idle-PC Value

Yes ....

FILIPINO to SLOVAK
CHINESE to SLOVAK

Page 3 of 3 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/