GNS3
http://forum.gns3.net/

How to Create a Cisco ASA virtual machine for VMware Fusion
http://forum.gns3.net/topic8180.html
Page 1 of 1

Author:  mweisel [ Tue Jan 14, 2014 6:02 am ]
Post subject:  How to Create a Cisco ASA virtual machine for VMware Fusion

Want to run your virtual Cisco ASA devices on VMware instead of QEMU? Check out my blog post for the full details.

P.S. Jeremy and the GNS3 team: Congratulations on the crowdfunding campaign and a big thanks for taking GNS3 to the next level.

Author:  rednectar [ Tue Jan 14, 2014 9:50 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Create a Cisco ASA virtual machine for VMware Fusion

Looks good. Looking forward to trying it.

Author:  mweisel [ Wed Jan 15, 2014 2:06 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Create a Cisco ASA virtual machine for VMware Fusion

rednectar wrote:
Looks good. Looking forward to trying it.


Thanks, Chris. I appreciate any feedback.

Author:  grossmj [ Thu Jan 16, 2014 7:25 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How to Create a Cisco ASA virtual machine for VMware Fus

Looks really good. The more thing we can take away from Qemu the better, performance wise but also for the stability.

Qemu has been a nightmare for us, just too many differences/regressions between versions and platforms, for instance ASA only works with a specific version of Qemu on OSX and works with the latest version on Linux etc. Also why do you think we still ship Qemu 0.11.0 in our all-in-one package on Windows? ;)

The plan for the future GNS3 versions is to have the possibility to manage multiple Qemu binaries and to choose one for each virtual device type (ASA, JunOS etc.) but still, the more we can have in VirtualBox/VMware, the better imo.

Thanks for this great howto!

Author:  mweisel [ Fri Jan 17, 2014 11:35 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How to Create a Cisco ASA virtual machine for VMware Fus

grossmj wrote:
Looks really good. The more thing we can take away from Qemu the better, performance wise but also for the stability.

Qemu has been a nightmare for us, just too many differences/regressions between versions and platforms, for instance ASA only works with a specific version of Qemu on OSX and works with the latest version on Linux etc. Also why do you think we still ship Qemu 0.11.0 in our all-in-one package on Windows? ;)

The plan for the future GNS3 versions is to have the possibility to manage multiple Qemu binaries and to choose one for each virtual device type (ASA, JunOS etc.) but still, the more we can have in VirtualBox/VMware, the better imo.

Thanks for this great howto!


Jeremy, I couldn't agree with you more when it comes to QEMU. From the perspective of an end user, QEMU has been a struggle. I can only imagine what "fun" you've encountered trying to support it. :-)

The Cisco ASA was the last virtual device that required QEMU for me. I now only run the Dynamips and VMware hypervisors for my GNS3 labs.

The VMware hypervisor gives me the option to run the following virtual devices in my GNS3 labs:

* Cisco ASA
* JunOS Olive (currently replaced by JunosV Firefly)
* Cisco CSR 1000V
* Cisco NX-OS Emulator ("Titanium")
* F5 BIG-IP LTM VE

It's a great time to be a networking geek. :-)

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/