It is currently Sun Jul 21, 2019 9:44 pm


All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: VPCS in GNS3 and making the default Terminal iterm2 (OSX)
PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2014 7:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 8:56 pm
Posts: 3
Hi,

Great application although haven't moved to the v1.0 product as yet (due to sit an exam!)...

Anyway, I use iTerm2 in GNS3 and whilst my console sessions open great in iTerm2 I'd like VPCS to do the same rather than the plain old mac terminal.app is there a way to force this so my console(s) and VPCS clients are all in the same application?




Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: VPCS in GNS3 and making the default Terminal iterm2 (OSX
PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2014 9:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2010 11:33 am
Posts: 1494
Location: Australia
See if this section from the GNS3 Network Simulation Guide helps:

Attachment:
terminalapp.png
terminalapp.png [ 256.99 KiB | Viewed 3745 times ]


You will find that the settings for iTerm2 are in the dropdown, or you can type in:
Code:
/usr/bin/osascript -e 'tell app "iTerm"' -e 'activate' -e 'set myterm to the first terminal' -e 'tell myterm' -e 'set mysession to (make new session at the end of sessions)' -e 'tell mysession' -e 'exec command "telnet %h %p"' -e 'set name to "%d"' -e 'end tell' -e 'end tell' -e 'end tell'



Tip: Read topic1829.html


Disclaimer: I am the author of the GNS3 Network Simulation Guide

_________________
RedNectar
http://rednectar.net
@rednectarchris
GNS3 WorkBench-a VMware image of Ubuntu with GNS3 and VPCS installed and a collection of exercises/labs


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: VPCS in GNS3 and making the default Terminal iterm2 (OSX
PostPosted: Tue Sep 30, 2014 9:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 8:56 pm
Posts: 3
Thanks for the reply RedNectar and for your helpful link?

OK amending the drop down doesn't actually do anything on the version I am running 0.8.4
If I amend and click OK or Apply and OK and then go back into Preferences I am still set to use SecureCRT (Mac OS X)

If I check my gns3.ini I see my console= line is pretty much the same as you include below.

All my console screens open in iterm2 no issue because I've told iterm2 to be the default terminal

If I hit CMD & T (or select Terminal from the tools menu) or I start VPCS from Tools menu then this loads in TERMINAL not in iterm2?? It is this behaviour I wish to amend from being Terminal to iTerm2.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: VPCS in GNS3 and making the default Terminal iterm2 (OSX
PostPosted: Wed Oct 01, 2014 2:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2010 11:33 am
Posts: 1494
Location: Australia
mea culpa. I am so sorry - I did not read your question.

The answer is that you CAN'T use any other terminal app for VPCS other than what Jeremy programmed! That has improved in v1.

But for now, GNS3 0.8.7 is the best of the OS X versions, but for VPCS you are actually better off just opening your own copy of iTerm2 and running VPCS from there.

However, the problem with that is that you need to launch vpcs from your project's configs directory, and then type in a ridiculously long command to launch vpcs so that when you save your vpcs configuration, it gets saved in the right directory.

There is a trick that MIGHT make life simpler when it comes to having you startup.vpc files saved correctly, but it requires a newer version of VPCS that supports the running of a shell command to get the current working directory. This is what I did-

  1. Downloaded the latest VPCS for OS X
  2. move/rename this download to the GNS3 app, and make it executable - from an iTerm2 prompt I typed:
    Code:
    mv ~/Downloads/vpcs_0.5b2_OSX /Applications/GNS3.app/Contents/Resources/vpcs
    chmod +x /Applications/GNS3.app/Contents/Resources/vpcs
  3. Opened a GNS3 project with its VPCS
  4. Chose Tools|vpcs [This should launch vpcs v0.5b2 or better]
  5. Issued a !pwd command in vpcs to get the current directory - copied the path to the clipboard
    Code:
    VPCS[1]> !pwd
    /Users/chriswelsh/GNS3/Projects/2VPCS/configs
  6. Quit vpcs
    Code:
    VPCS[1]> quit
  7. In iTerm2 issued a cd to the path you copied, then launched vpcs
    Code:
    $ cd /Users/chriswelsh/GNS3/Projects/2VPCS/configs
    $ /Applications/GNS3.app/Contents/Resources/vpcs

    Welcome to Virtual PC Simulator, version 0.5b2
    Dedicated to Daling.
    Build time: Jul  1 2014 08:55:27
    Copyright (c) 2007-2014, Paul Meng ([email protected])
    All rights reserved.

    VPCS is free software, distributed under the terms of the "BSD" licence.
    Source code and license can be found at vpcs.sf.net.
    For more information, please visit wiki.freecode.com.cn.

    Press '?' to get help.

    VPCS[1]>

Hmm. Don't know that helped much. But good luck



_________________
RedNectar
http://rednectar.net
@rednectarchris
GNS3 WorkBench-a VMware image of Ubuntu with GNS3 and VPCS installed and a collection of exercises/labs


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO