GNS3
http://forum.gns3.net/

Intermittent fault GNS3 1 beta and winpcap
http://forum.gns3.net/topic12376.html
Page 1 of 1

Author:  tasdevil [ Tue Oct 07, 2014 6:41 am ]
Post subject:  Intermittent fault GNS3 1 beta and winpcap

Have an intermittent issue where you have a working topology with a cloud linked to a loopback interface on Windows (2012r2, maybe 8.1 also). The topology works fine, you quit GNS3, reload the project and you get errors, typically "Error -3200, unable to create VM instance XX" where XX is usually the router that links to the cloud. When this happens, the router ends up with an E on it and you can't right click on it to configure or anything. You also end up with dynamips processes in task manager that can't be killed.

At this stage, the topology map does not show any links to/from the router connecting to the cloud - it appears all by itself as if just dragged onto the workspace. So you select the connections icon, then the cloud and the black line comes up as normal, however when you select a valid interface on the router to connect to the black line just vanishes and there is no connection displayed.

Uninstalling winpcap and reinstalling winpcap fixes this issue and the previously saved project then loads fine without errors. I am not sure what triggers this condition, but it's happened about 6 times in the past two months and reinstalling winpcap fixes it every time. Would appreciate any ideas as to the trigger for this and a better way to rectify as uninstalling/reinstalling winpcap requires a reboot, as does freeing up the hung dynamips instance.

Author:  rednectar [ Tue Oct 07, 2014 11:05 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Intermittent fault GNS3 1 beta and winpcap

Quote:
uninstalling/reinstalling winpcap requires a reboot,

Question: Have you tried just the reboot without re-installing? If that works, it would indicate that some process has failed and causing your problem - probablt something that didn't shut down properly when you quit GNS3 the first time.

Author:  tasdevil [ Wed Oct 08, 2014 2:11 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Intermittent fault GNS3 1 beta and winpcap

Reboot does not fix the problem, neither does uninstalling and reinstalling the loopback adaptor. The only thing that fixes it is to uninstall/reinstall winpcap

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/