GNS3
http://forum.gns3.net/

connecting routers to IOU switch
http://forum.gns3.net/topic12420.html
Page 1 of 1

Author:  oudmaster [ Fri Oct 10, 2014 10:27 pm ]
Post subject:  connecting routers to IOU switch

hi all

I have installed GNS3 beta 3,
I am getting an issue which is not able to connect the 7200 router to the IOU.

however I am able to connect IOU to IOU switch, and able also to connect 7200 router to 7200 router.

the error message I am getting is this

Image

the OS I am using is
C7200-ADVENTERPRISEK9-M
I86BI_LINUXL2-ADVENTERPRISEK9-M

how to solve the issue !??


thanks,

Author:  twv [ Fri Oct 10, 2014 11:15 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: connecting routers to IOU switch

oudmaster wrote:
hi all

I have installed GNS3 beta 3,
I am getting an issue which is not able to connect the 7200 router to the IOU.

however I am able to connect IOU to IOU switch, and able also to connect 7200 router to 7200 router.

the error message I am getting is this

the OS I am using is
C7200-ADVENTERPRISEK9-M
I86BI_LINUXL2-ADVENTERPRISEK9-M

how to solve the issue !??


thanks,



Image


The Remote server (IOU) needs to be on the same subnet as the Local sever (GNS3-Server).

Author:  oudmaster [ Fri Oct 10, 2014 11:54 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: connecting routers to IOU switch

hi

do you know how to do this !??

Author:  twv [ Sat Oct 11, 2014 1:47 am ]
Post subject:  Re: connecting routers to IOU switch

oudmaster wrote:
hi

do you know how to do this !??


From a previous post:

Find the VBox Host Only Adapter that your IOU VM is using:

Image

Open a command prompt, type ipconfig and find the corresponding VBox Host Only Adapter. This is what it looks like on my PC:

Ethernet adapter VB HOA #2 IOU:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::39b0:b4e3:a49d:5022%44
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.133.2
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

Then change the IP address in the Host Binding field of "Local server" (Edit -> preferences -> GNS3 Server) to match the IP address of the VB HOA (it should be listed in the drop down menu of the text field).

Image

If the IP address that your IOU VM is using isn't in the same subnet, change it. Just to be clear, don't assign 192.168.133.2 to your IOU VM's nic though.

Image

I set a VB HOA aside for the IOU and configured it to provide DHCP that only gives out one IP Address.

Image

Don't forget to change the Remote Server address in GNS3's preferences to reflect any change in the IOU VM's IP address:

Image

This works for me after quite a bit of research on why my VBox VM's IOU devices weren't pingable but a VMWare test VM had no problems one configured. I hope this will help someone.

Author:  oudmaster [ Sat Oct 11, 2014 9:16 am ]
Post subject:  Re: connecting routers to IOU switch

thanks
it is working now, I just the settings of the local server and out it to be the same subnet of the remote server.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/