GNS3
http://forum.gns3.net/

Node Configuration
http://forum.gns3.net/topic12432.html
Page 1 of 1

Author:  kamalbawa [ Sat Oct 11, 2014 8:03 pm ]
Post subject:  Node Configuration

Hi..
I am new to GNS. SO need your help .
Q. Node configuration can be done by right clicking the router then selecting the "slot" tab and then using the appropriate drop down e.g: NM-4T. But this will be lost when you reopen the GNS and we need to configure the nodes/interfaces again n again.
Can we add interfaces permanently? so that we won't need to add it again when we open the GNS next time.
Thanks
Kamal

Author:  claydon_dan [ Sat Oct 11, 2014 8:51 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Node Configuration

If you save the project it will save any additional cards you have added to the that for that project.

There is no method however to have them added by default to all routers.

Author:  kamalbawa [ Sat Oct 11, 2014 8:58 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Node Configuration

claydon_dan wrote:
If you save the project it will save any additional cards you have added to the that for that project.

There is no method however to have them added by default to all routers.

Ahh... Thanks dan for the response.
Well we can save a sample project with few routers node configured in it and open it whenever we are going to have our new topology, it will just save our little time for every new project.
Thanks again!

BR..
Kamal

Author:  rednectar [ Sun Oct 12, 2014 9:06 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Node Configuration

@ kamalbawa
Quote:
Can we add interfaces permanently? so that we won't need to add it again when we open the GNS next time.


You can't, but you don't need to either.

There's a little trick you can do. Here's how I described it in the GNS3 Network Simulation Guide:
Quote:
You can get GNS3 to automatically add appropriate modules to your routers by holding the <Shift> key when you select the Add a link tool and select the type of link you wish to use. When you now click on a router, it will automatically add a module of the correct type and connect to the first port of that module


Disclaimer: I am the author of the GNS3 Network Simulation Guide:

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/