GNS3
http://forum.gns3.net/

how to change interfaces' names
http://forum.gns3.net/topic12442.html
Page 1 of 1

Author:  oudmaster [ Sun Oct 12, 2014 6:41 pm ]
Post subject:  how to change interfaces' names

hi all

in GNS3, is it possible to change the interfaces names and put them in the same sequence:

for example instead of fas 0/1 fas 0/2 fas 1/0 fas 1/1
make them as fas 0/1 fas 0/2 fas 0/3 fas 0/4 and so on

thanks,

Author:  pguerreiro [ Sun Oct 12, 2014 6:46 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: how to change interfaces' names

Hi,

I think that it doesn't make any sense, since it's different cards and slots, and the fa x/y, it's the card int slot x, connector y in that card.

In real life equipments, you can't change the interface name also.

Regards.

Author:  rednectar [ Sun Oct 12, 2014 8:06 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: how to change interfaces' names

GNS3 emulates REAL equipment, and uses the interface names that Cisco uses on that equipment.

And Cisco is NOT going to change the way it names its interfaces for you!

So you'll just have to get used to the interface names as they are in the real world. Which is NOT a bad thing to know anyway.

BTW - you might find this post interesting too

Author:  oudmaster [ Mon Oct 13, 2014 5:49 am ]
Post subject:  Re: how to change interfaces' names

thanks guys

the only thing I am thinking about is when you copy and paste the initial configs of a Lab, it will not be pasted since the interfaces names are not the same.

for example, the IOU does not read fas 0/1 - 0/24

Author:  rednectar [ Mon Oct 13, 2014 9:01 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: how to change interfaces' names

Quote:
when you copy and paste the initial configs of a Lab, it will not be pasted since the interfaces names are not the same.


Just like in the real world!!!!


However: If you stick with c3725/c3745/c2621XM - you can least know that configs that use f0/0 f0/1 s0/0 and s0/1 can be made to work on each platform. That's why I used the c3725 as the base for the GNS3 WorkBench exercises

Author:  oudmaster [ Thu Oct 16, 2014 6:28 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: how to change interfaces' names

thanks for your reply

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/