GNS3
http://forum.gns3.net/

Unable to save router configuration
http://forum.gns3.net/topic1677.html
Page 1 of 2

Author:  Imonte [ Sat Feb 27, 2010 1:04 am ]
Post subject:  Unable to save router configuration

Hi there,

I've been trying to use GNS3 since yesterday and everything works great except when I try to save the router config. Everytime I save my configuration a .net file is created but my router config disappears.

I've read some of the documentation, tutorials as well as the forum and saw that you can "extract/import all startup-configs", also that you can open it as new project and select both options: "Save nvrams and other disk files, Export router configuration files". When I do that the .cfg file is created but as soon as I re-open my lab the config is not pulled.

If I open the .cfg file with notepad I can see there all the config but still no luck. I'm new at this so maybe (very possible) I'm missing something :). I already tried it in my PC as well in my MAC.........same thing.

Any help will be highly appreciated.
Cheers

Author:  kaage [ Sat Feb 27, 2010 8:28 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Unable to save router configuration

Try to type command show startup-config or something like that to see if there is startup config in place. I have faced the situation where startup config was in place but router wasn't able to run it. So running config was empty.

Author:  Victorosborn [ Sun Feb 28, 2010 5:35 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Unable to save router configuration

Hi

I have the same issue.
I am new to ubuntu.
Running Ubuntu 9.10, GNS3 0.7, latest dynamips.
Qt 4.5.3, PyQt 4.6.1

Open project, hook on save to nvram and config.
open a .net file
make some config and doing a write.
Close

When opening again
The only that is same is topology.
All configs are lost.

I had the same problem before when running 8.10 but this was solved doing a gksudo when opening the GNS3.
But this time it would not solve the problem. And I belive I should have all the write permissions when doing gksudo.

Never had any problems when running XP, Vista og Win7.

Will try to install again when the deb packing link is up again, but it is down for the moment:

http://gpl.code.de/oswiki/GplcodedeApt

Others that have experienced the same issue?

Author:  Imonte [ Mon Mar 01, 2010 4:11 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Unable to save router configuration

Hi kaage,

Indeed the show startup-config displays all my configuration but the router is unable to run it. If I try to copy the startup-config to the running-config I get error:

"Non-volatile configuration memory invalid or not present"

You know how I can copy it to the running-config, or how do I make the router pull the configuration?

Thanks in advance.

Cheers

Author:  kaage [ Mon Mar 01, 2010 5:49 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Unable to save router configuration

If I remeber right this is a bug in dynamips (emulator under GNS3) and problem exist only with 3745 so try some other platform if you are using 3745.

Author:  Imonte [ Mon Mar 01, 2010 6:09 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Unable to save router configuration

Yup I'm using 3745 because I want to set up a CallManager Express. I was able to pull the config after I saved it to flash in the router. I know is not the best way but at least know I can pull everything I've configured :)

I will make the tests with other IOS/routers. Thanks for all your help.

Author:  brezular [ Mon Mar 01, 2010 6:20 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Unable to save router configuration

Quote:
Yup I'm using 3745 because I want to set up a CallManager Express. I was able to pull the config after I saved it to flash in the router. I know is not the best way but at least know I can pull everything I've configured :)

I will make the tests with other IOS/routers. Thanks for all your help.


btw you can run also CME 7.1 (124-24.T or 15.01M IOS) on 7200 platform.

Cheers,

Author:  dx-one [ Sat Dec 04, 2010 2:58 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Unable to save router configuration

I had the same issue on a Cisco 3745 IOS with other couple of Cisco IOS on GNS3 in which the Startup-Config was present, manually extracted or saved but I was unable to restore the Startup-Config files it into the RAM or the Running-Config.

This is what I've done to solve it quickly (overwrite startup-config, re-load startup-config from GNS3 icon, copy startup-config into the running-config):

Router#copy star running-config
%% Non-volatile configuration memory invalid or not present


** This is what I've done to solve it **

[ Step 1 ]
Copy your running-config into your startup-config
(obviously this will overwrite your startup-config but don't worry about it)

Router#copy running-config startup-config
Destination filename [startup-config]?
Building configuration...
[OK]
Router#

[ Step 2 ]
Either click on the EXTRACT/IMPORT all startup-configs icon > IMPORT FROM DIRECTORY > Select the directory in which you have saved your configuration file of your project (*.cfg)

Or right click on your Router > Startup-Config > Load Config from NVRAM > OK

[ Step 3 ]
Router#copy startup-config running-config
Destination filename [running-config]?

1661 bytes copied in 0.324 secs (5127 bytes/sec)
Router_LAB-01#


** That's all I've being doing to restore back the "Startup-Config" from all my labs successfully **

Author:  rysic [ Sun Mar 02, 2014 10:23 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Unable to save router configuration

Bug is fixed in Dynamips 0.2.11!!! :-)
I tested it in OpenSUSE 12.3. Dynamips installed from Education repo: http://software.opensuse.org/package/dy ... m=dynamips
Thak you very much for that good work! :-)

Author:  kehagen [ Tue May 27, 2014 9:07 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Unable to save router configuration

I've also experience this with 7206vxr. So, dynamips 0.2.11 should fix this? We're still at 0.2.8 RC3.

Page 1 of 2 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/