GNS3
http://forum.gns3.net/

CCIE Routing & Switching
http://forum.gns3.net/topic177-10.html
Page 2 of 3

Author:  oglumavd [ Fri Feb 25, 2011 3:42 am ]
Post subject:  Re: CCIE Routing & Switching

menace212 wrote:
alifar wrote:
FYI

I have 8gb of memory can windows 2003 server expand beyond 4gb?

This link might help you: http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc758523(WS.10).aspx

How about running it on the following OS?

> ubuntu 64-bit
> Window 7-bit

HTH
Oglumavd Icin

Author:  oglumavd [ Fri Feb 25, 2011 4:30 am ]
Post subject:  Re: CCIE Routing & Switching

fs-mirza wrote:
I would like to try this way setup ccie lab, how if we use multiple usb network adapter, I may have around 10 to 12 usb-network adapters, I m afraid that dell machine will support this many adapters ? its running OS windows 7 32 bit, will it work, I have del optiplex 775 , it has 2 gb ram, if not please somebody suggest wat will be better solution ..
Thanks


Hi,
If you are going to use single machine, you must upgrade memory to min. 6gig, 8 or > prefered :-). I never tried these many USB NICs on a single windows based OS (I don't think it should be problem). Currently using Ubuntu 64-bit with 10 USB NIC and 1 NIC w/4 ports.
System Spec:
> HP Z400
> 8 Gig RAM
> Ubuntu 10x 64-bit

USB NIC (Please not that, when I test this device while back, there wasn't a supported driver for 64-bit of win7)
Image
Image
Image

HTH

Author:  NetAdmin [ Sun Feb 27, 2011 2:01 am ]
Post subject:  Re: CCIE Routing & Switching

Hi oglumavd,

1) Does your USB to Ethernet adapter support dot1q?
2) Do you have any issues using the KY-RS9600 USB to Ethernet adapter ?
3) What is the model/name of your USB HUBs?

Your solution is the same like this one -> http://7200emu.hacki.at/viewtopic.php?t ... c03a1b3b2a
but his USB to Ethernet does not support dot1Q

Thanks,
NetAdmin

Author:  oglumavd [ Sun Feb 27, 2011 9:01 am ]
Post subject:  Re: CCIE Routing & Switching

NetAdmin wrote:
Hi oglumavd,

1) Does your USB to Ethernet adapter support dot1q?
>> Yes

2) Do you have any issues using the KY-RS9600 USB to Ethernet adapter ?
>> Somewhat ,
1) I couldn't get it working on Win7 Ult., 64-bit (4-6 mo. ago).
2) if you use "allow vlan range", it shuts int, stay w/basic conf.
3) It gets pretty warm after a while
4) and that's about it

3) What is the model/name of your USB HUBs?
>> they are:
1) Dynex
2) Generic

Your solution is the same like this one -> http://7200emu.hacki.at/viewtopic.php?t ... c03a1b3b2a
but his USB to Ethernet does not support dot1Q
>> Yes, it is similiar...

Thanks,
NetAdmin



Here's very simple topology (router on a stick)
>> Router fa0/0 to SWx fa0/30
>> router fa0/0 > sub int > (fa0/0.91, fa0/0.92 and fa0/0.93) to SWx fa0/30;
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
>> int configuration on the router:
Rack1R4#sh run int fa0/0
Building configuration...

Current configuration : 61 bytes
!
interface FastEthernet0/0
no ip address
duplex full
end

Rack1R4#sh run int fa0/0.91
Building configuration...

Current configuration : 97 bytes
!
interface FastEthernet0/0.91
encapsulation dot1Q 91
ip address 99.99.91.1 255.255.255.0
end

Rack1R4#sh run int fa0/0.92
Building configuration...

Current configuration : 97 bytes
!
interface FastEthernet0/0.92
encapsulation dot1Q 92
ip address 99.99.92.1 255.255.255.0
end

Rack1R4#sh run int fa0/0.93
Building configuration...

Current configuration : 97 bytes
!
interface FastEthernet0/0.93
encapsulation dot1Q 93
ip address 99.99.93.1 255.255.255.0
end
Rack1R4#
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
Rack1R4#sh ip int br | e ux
Interface IP-Address OK? Method Status Protocol
FastEthernet0/0 unassigned YES NVRAM up up
FastEthernet0/0.91 99.99.91.1 YES NVRAM up up
FastEthernet0/0.92 99.99.92.1 YES NVRAM up up
FastEthernet0/0.93 99.99.93.1 YES NVRAM up up
Rack1R4#
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
>> Ping from router to SW:
Rack1R4#ping 99.99.91.2

Type escape sequence to abort.
Sending 5, 100-byte ICMP Echos to 99.99.91.2, timeout is 2 seconds:
!!!!!
Success rate is 100 percent (5/5), round-trip min/avg/max = 1/5/12 ms
Rack1R4#ping 99.99.92.2

Type escape sequence to abort.
Sending 5, 100-byte ICMP Echos to 99.99.92.2, timeout is 2 seconds:
!!!!!
Success rate is 100 percent (5/5), round-trip min/avg/max = 1/4/8 ms
Rack1R4#ping 99.99.93.2

Type escape sequence to abort.
Sending 5, 100-byte ICMP Echos to 99.99.93.2, timeout is 2 seconds:
!!!!!
Success rate is 100 percent (5/5), round-trip min/avg/max = 4/4/8 ms
Rack1R4#
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
>> SVI configuration on SWx
Rack1SW4#sh run int vlan 92
Building configuration...

Current configuration : 61 bytes
!
interface Vlan92
ip address 99.99.92.2 255.255.255.0
end

Rack1SW4#sh run int vlan 93
Building configuration...

Current configuration : 61 bytes
!
interface Vlan93
ip address 99.99.93.2 255.255.255.0
end
Rack1SW4#
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
>> Uplink int configuration on the SWx
interface FastEthernet0/30
switchport trunk encapsulation dot1q
switchport mode trunk
end

Rack1SW4#
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
>> ping from SW to router...
Rack1SW4#ping 99.99.91.1 source vlan 91

Type escape sequence to abort.
Sending 5, 100-byte ICMP Echos to 99.99.91.1, timeout is 2 seconds:
Packet sent with a source address of 99.99.91.2
!!!!!
Success rate is 100 percent (5/5), round-trip min/avg/max = 1/5/9 ms
Rack1SW4#ping 99.99.92.1 source vlan 92

Type escape sequence to abort.
Sending 5, 100-byte ICMP Echos to 99.99.92.1, timeout is 2 seconds:
Packet sent with a source address of 99.99.92.2
!!!!!
Success rate is 100 percent (5/5), round-trip min/avg/max = 1/5/9 ms
Rack1SW4#ping 99.99.93.1 source vlan 93

Type escape sequence to abort.
Sending 5, 100-byte ICMP Echos to 99.99.93.1, timeout is 2 seconds:
Packet sent with a source address of 99.99.93.2
!!!!!
Success rate is 100 percent (5/5), round-trip min/avg/max = 1/7/17 ms
Rack1SW4#


HTH
Oglum AVD

Author:  NetAdmin [ Mon Feb 28, 2011 7:07 am ]
Post subject:  Re: CCIE Routing & Switching

Thanks for the info oglumav. I will buy 15 KY-RS9600 USB to Ethernet adapters on ebay... They are cheap :)

Which Dynex USB Hub should i buy ?

1) http://cgi.ebay.com/Dynex-4-Port-USB-2- ... 3cb3eb8b0a or

2) http://cgi.ebay.com/Dynex-7-port-USB-2- ... 20b6fd4327 or

3) http://cgi.ebay.com/DYNEX-BLACK-4-PORT- ... 20b7185fea


regards,
NetAdmin

Author:  oglumavd [ Mon Feb 28, 2011 9:45 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: CCIE Routing & Switching

Hi NetAdmin,

*** Please note that these gears are tested ONLY on Ubuntu 10.x, 64-bit.

I have dynex 2 x 4 ports hub and generic (green). On the above picture, the great USB hub is from 99c store and it works like a champ :-). The reason generic is better because of space between the ports. You can easly connect/disconnect UBS NICs.
Hope you have a 99c store in your area :-)

Regards,

Oglumavd.

Author:  NetAdmin [ Tue Mar 01, 2011 9:11 am ]
Post subject:  Re: CCIE Routing & Switching

I have Ubuntu 10.10 64-bit installed on my PC with 8GB RAM :)

Scott Tyson has posted on http://blog.ipexpert.com Step-by-Step how to configure GNS3 AND PHYSICAL SWITCHES using 802.1q, QnQ and a breakout switch. I will try this first. It looks like it is easy to configure :)

http://blog.ipexpert.com/2011/02/28/gns ... ut-switch/

Author:  ByteMePlenty [ Mon Aug 01, 2011 3:47 am ]
Post subject:  Re: CCIE Routing & Switching

Hi friends,
I am using a powered USB hub to expand the number of USB ports available and then use USB to ethernet adapter to connect to real switches from GNS3. I goto cloud configuration and point to the NIC from the drop down menu in cloud configuration. But the problem is, everytime I reboot, I get a different NIO ethernet ID. And knowing which USB to ethernet adapter has just changed its ID is difficult. Has anyone run across this problem? Is there a way to make this more deterministic? Or better yet, to make the IDs stick across reboots?

Thanks a lot
B

Author:  waqasgk [ Sun Aug 07, 2011 11:10 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: CCIE Routing & Switching

Nice topology and great idea for using multiple Ethernet adapters on same PC.. thanks

Author:  Mancora [ Tue Aug 16, 2011 9:04 am ]
Post subject:  Re: CCIE Routing & Switching

oglumavd, NetAdmin,

I am looking to use the same solution that you are using for your CCIE Labs. I have been having some problems to get the right KY-RS9600 USB to Ethernet adapters on ebay.

I would appreciate if you can provide the seller of the KY-RS9600 USB to Ethernet to save me from more trial and error experiences.

Thanks!

Page 2 of 3 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/