GNS3
http://forum.gns3.net/

Routers 2600/3600 Series can not load ESW16 Module
http://forum.gns3.net/topic11432.html
Page 1 of 1

Author:  epereza10 [ Sat Aug 02, 2014 4:37 pm ]
Post subject:  Routers 2600/3600 Series can not load ESW16 Module

Hi, I´m trying to add the ESW16 module into any of these routers (3620, 3660, 2621) but the IOS doesn´t detect it, I have tried with these IOSs (C3620-j1s3-mz.123-19, C3660-I-Mz_20121-5_20T8, C2600-I-Mz.123-1a). I don´t know if I need another IOS to load this module.

Thanks.

Note: GNS3 0.8.7 and GNS3-ER 1 Beta.

Author:  rednectar [ Sat Aug 02, 2014 8:29 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Routers 2600/3600 Series can not load ESW16 Module

You need to find an image that supports the NM-16ESW. If you have a few hours to spare, you could use the Cisco feature navigator to find one. http://tools.cisco.com/ITDIT/CFN/jsp/index.jsp

Or, you could just take the advice I give in the GNS3 Network Simulation Guide:

Quote:
EtherSwitch router
You may have noticed that in the Switches dock of the Devices toolbar, there is an icon for an EtherSwitch router. This is nothing more than a Cisco 3725 router, preconfigured with a NM-16ESW card, which gives it 16 switch ports, quite independent from the router. The implication of this is that you MUST have an image for the c3725 router to be able to use the EtherSwitch device – I have found that the c3725-adventerprisek9-mz.124-15.T10 image works well with the EtherSwitch router because it supports the management of VLANs without having to resort to the vlan database commands.


And to locate the c3725-adventerprisek9-mz.124-15.T10 image on Cisco's website, I find it easier to do a google search for c3725-adventerprisek9-mz.124-15.T10.bin rather than battle with the above mentioned feature navigator. You'll probably find that the first link takes you directly to the Cisco download (but of course you will need a maintenance contract with Cisco before you can download it)

Disclaimer: I am the author of the GNS3 Network Simulation Guide

Author:  epereza10 [ Sat Aug 02, 2014 8:56 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Routers 2600/3600 Series can not load ESW16 Module

Thank you very much rednectar, I thought it was a problem with the IOS but I´ll take your advice about the using of the "EtherSwitch Router".

Regards.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/