It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 7:33 pm


All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Windows 8 & Loopback adapter - can't ping to/from
PostPosted: Sat Mar 02, 2013 2:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 2:31 am
Posts: 4
Hi All,

Just another one of the loopback issues ;)

I bought a new laptop running Windows 8 and decided to install GNS3 and start using the ASA.

I am using the following:

Cloud (192.168.0.5) -> switch -> ASA (192.168.0.4)

ASA interface 0 IP Addresses is: 192.168.0.4 Mask: 255.255.255.0
M$ loopback adapter: 192.168.0.5 Mask: 255.255.255.0

I have this identical setup on my windows 7 (32 bit) laptop, same IP addresses etc and it works 100% fine. When I did this on my windows 8 laptop, I am unable to ping the loopback from the ASA, and unable to ping the ASA from my laptop/cmd.

I have disabled windows firewall and also removed my anti-virus, yet it still does not allow me to ping/telnet or have any kind of connection. The weird thing is, when I ping from CMD -> ASA, there is an ARP entry with 192.168.0.5 in the ASA, but still can not ping. Have spent quite a few hours on this reinstalling/trying different versions. Run as administrator and also run in compatibility mode with windows 7 etc,still not luck. Has anyone had any issue like this on windows 8??

Funnily enough, If i connect to my wireless adapter, I can ping to and from the loopback/ASA. Its just my loopback that does not seem to work. I created it by running hdwwiz and following the prompts to make 'KM-TEST loopback address'. I then created a second loopback and that didnt work either. After all the mucking around, it seems the cloud no longer even displays the adapters (separate issue), its just completely greyed out. Anyway, has anyone ever had so many god damn issues with this and windows 8??

I took me 10 mins on windows 7, taken me 5 hours and got no where so far on win 8 :(. I tried using 64bit standalone and also the default .exe install. No luck with either! Let me know if you need anything further.

I am using it on my old laptop at the moment, though would like to get it to work on my new one :)




Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows 8 & Loopback adapter - can't ping to/from
PostPosted: Sun Mar 03, 2013 7:51 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 1:41 pm
Posts: 2668
Location: Canada
Hi,

I haven't tested myself but I think this because the winpcap dependency isn't fully compatible with Windows 8. Can anyone confirm this?

_________________
Jeremy, GNS3 Programmer & Benevolent Dictator for Life.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows 8 & Loopback adapter - can't ping to/from
PostPosted: Sun Mar 03, 2013 3:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2012 2:03 pm
Posts: 54
I confirm that on Windows 8 x64! Please look at my screenshots and settings

post19019.html#p19019
post19020.html#p19020

I made some testing using VB's, ASA and 3725 earlier today connecting them to Loopback Cloud


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows 8 & Loopback adapter - can't ping to/from
PostPosted: Sun Jun 16, 2013 10:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2012 11:19 pm
Posts: 143
Location: U.K.
I also had problems with the MS loopback on Windows 8.

Initially my loopback interface weren't being detected by Winpcap 4.1.3. After some searching I saw a suggestion to run the Winpcap installer in Windows 7 compatibility mode. I did this - I can now see all my interfaces correctly and I can ping the loopback interface which is attached via a NIO Ethernet.

Attachment:
capture_001_16062013_233823.jpg
capture_001_16062013_233823.jpg [ 52.59 KiB | Viewed 18189 times ]


This is the file WinPcap_4_1_3.exe that has been downloaded.

_________________
GNS3 0.8.4 running on Windows 8.1
GNS3 0.8.4 running on CentOS 6.5


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows 8 & Loopback adapter - can't ping to/from
PostPosted: Thu Nov 07, 2013 4:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 3:08 am
Posts: 3
Hello,

I am also trying to get an ASA setup on my Windows 8 machine. I found that I need to change the WinPcap 4.1.3 compatibility mode to Windows 7 to see my Loopback adapter in the NIO drop-down menu. My settings are as follows:

ASA(inside)=>ethernet switch=>Cloud(loopback adapter)

ASA(inside) - 10.10.10.1/24
Loopback Adapter - 10.10.10.2/24

But I am still not able to ping from ASA (inside) to Loopback Adapter or vice-versa. I tried to see if the WinPcap compatibility troubleshooter helps. It came out with Windows XP (SP3) mode. I tried that as well but without any luck. Please help !!!

Manas


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows 8 & Loopback adapter - can't ping to/from
PostPosted: Thu Nov 07, 2013 6:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2013 2:34 pm
Posts: 5
Bridging Real NIC to the Loopback Adapter on Windows 8 is a pain in the ass. You can still be able to communicate to the internet using ICS.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows 8 & Loopback adapter - can't ping to/from
PostPosted: Thu Nov 07, 2013 7:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 3:08 am
Posts: 3
Thanks a lot for your reply. I want to install ASDM onto the ASA from my laptop. Can you please tell me how to make this connection work sothat I can TFTP the file onto the ASA. This Windows 8 is giving me some hard time here. What is ICS ? The ping itself is not working.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows 8 & Loopback adapter - can't ping to/from
PostPosted: Sat Nov 09, 2013 8:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2013 2:34 pm
Posts: 5
Please see this post

topic6150.html


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows 8 & Loopback adapter - can't ping to/from
PostPosted: Fri Apr 25, 2014 4:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 4:36 am
Posts: 1
I've got the same problem like my_username, somebody helps me pls!




Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO