It is currently Sat Sep 21, 2019 9:13 am


All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Call for help: GNS3 & AutoNetkit
PostPosted: Tue Apr 29, 2014 3:15 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 1:41 pm
Posts: 2668
Location: Canada
We want to include Autonetkit into the new version of the software and we are looking for someone (or people) who would be interested in helping us out with it.

Autonetkit can be found on Github - https://github.com/sk2/autonetkit

If you have integrated it within GNS3, or would like to tack a crack at it, let us know. Or if you have information you think we should know about it, please feel free to share it below.

We can offer a "Bounty" on it as well to help incentivize -

Thanks again,



_________________
Jeremy, GNS3 Programmer & Benevolent Dictator for Life.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Call for help: GNS3 & AutoNetkit
PostPosted: Thu May 01, 2014 3:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2013 3:13 pm
Posts: 9
I found little document

http://sk2.github.io/autonetkit/tutorial/extending.html
https://autonetkit.readthedocs.org/en/latest/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Call for help: GNS3 & AutoNetkit
PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2014 3:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 5:07 pm
Posts: 114
in regards of gns3 1.0, that as far as i can tell uses json, we might be lucky.

It seems that the latest version of autonetkit (version 0.9) accepts json inputs as written on github page:

Quote:
Using
AutoNetkit 0.9 allows for JSON input. An example JSON input is:

{
"directed": false, "graph": [], "multigraph": false,
"links": [
{"dst": "r2", "dst_port": "eth0", "src": "r1", "src_port": "eth0"},
{"dst": "r3", "dst_port": "eth0", "src": "r1", "src_port": "eth1"},
{"dst": "r3", "dst_port": "eth1", "src": "r2", "src_port": "eth1"},
{"dst": "r2", "dst_port": "eth2", "src": "r4", "src_port": "eth0"},
{"dst": "r5", "dst_port": "eth0", "src": "r4", "src_port": "eth1"},
{"dst": "r3", "dst_port": "eth2", "src": "r5", "src_port": "eth1"}
],
"nodes": [
{
"asn": 1, "device_type": "router", "id": "r1", "x": 350, "y": 400,
"ports": [
{"category": "loopback", "description": null, "id": "Loopback0"},
{"category": "physical", "description": "r1 to r2", "id": "eth0"},
{"category": "physical", "description": "r1 to r3", "id": "eth1"}
]
},
{
"asn": 1, "device_type": "router", "id": "r2", "x": 500, "y": 300,
"ports": [
{"category": "loopback", "description": null, "id": "Loopback0"},
{"category": "physical", "description": "r2 to r1", "id": "eth0"},
{"category": "physical", "description": "r2 to r3", "id": "eth1"},
{"category": "physical", "description": "r2 to r4", "id": "eth2"}
]
},
{
"asn": 1, "device_type": "router", "id": "r3", "x": 500, "y": 500,
"ports": [
{"category": "loopback", "description": null, "id": "Loopback0"},
{"category": "physical", "description": "r3 to r1", "id": "eth0"},
{"category": "physical", "description": "r3 to r2", "id": "eth1"},
{"category": "physical", "description": "r3 to r5", "id": "eth2"}
]
},
{
"asn": 2, "device_type": "router", "id": "r4", "x": 675, "y": 300,
"ports": [
{"category": "loopback", "description": null, "id": "Loopback0"},
{"category": "physical", "description": "r4 to r2", "id": "eth0"},
{"category": "physical", "description": "r4 to r5", "id": "eth1"}
]
},
{
"asn": 2, "device_type": "router", "id": "r5", "x": 675, "y": 500,
"ports": [
{"category": "loopback", "description": null, "id": "Loopback0"},
{"category": "physical", "description": "r5 to r4", "id": "eth0"},
{"category": "physical", "description": "r5 to r3", "id": "eth1"}
]
}
]
}
Examples of topology files can be found in the example directory.


i'm no python developer but if gns3 might create a .json file to give to autonetkit in input, well, this might just do it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Call for help: GNS3 & AutoNetkit
PostPosted: Sat May 17, 2014 2:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2013 3:13 pm
Posts: 9
Cisco Modelling Labs use AutoNetkit to Visualization
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Call for help: GNS3 & AutoNetkit
PostPosted: Sat May 17, 2014 2:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 5:07 pm
Posts: 114
not only for visualization but also to build basic configurations. To do so it uses two python modules , addons to autonetkit. I managed to extract those two modules, if someone wants to give a look at them, they are here: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/665 ... -cisco.zip

the problem here, is that they work only with autonetkit 0.6.something.. i tried them with 0.8 or 0.9 (which supports json) and doesn't work, it crashes.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Call for help: GNS3 & AutoNetkit
PostPosted: Sat May 17, 2014 9:05 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 1:41 pm
Posts: 2668
Location: Canada
Thanks for your comments guys, it may not be too hard to integrate AutoNetkit features to GNS3 then, especially using JSON.

_________________
Jeremy, GNS3 Programmer & Benevolent Dictator for Life.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Call for help: GNS3 & AutoNetkit
PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2014 4:41 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 4:36 am
Posts: 3
I was looking at the expected Json output and it is fairly simple. Almost all of the information required for the Json file is in the topology file for the project. I haven't seen the source code to GNS3 but I would imagine it shouldn't be hard to call the save project routine and pass the serialized data structure to a Json formatter. There are still some elements that from the config file that could be parsed through regex. This functionality would also open the doors for a type converter API allowing the possible export to Visio or something similar. Just a though.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Call for help: GNS3 & AutoNetkit
PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2014 2:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2014 2:26 am
Posts: 9
It is probably because I don't know how to utilize the AutoNetkit BUT from what I've seen I don't like it. It is tedious, confusing, and limiting. When it asks for an IPv4 address but not which interface to apply it to I just get confused.

So, color me stupid but I'd prefer to keep GNS3 clean and allow it to build a topology, start that topology, and save off any configuration built.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Call for help: GNS3 & AutoNetkit
PostPosted: Tue Jun 24, 2014 4:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2011 8:16 am
Posts: 10
vthanhnet wrote:
Cisco Modelling Labs use AutoNetkit to Visualization
Image


I need more info ..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Call for help: GNS3 & AutoNetkit
PostPosted: Tue Jun 24, 2014 4:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 5:07 pm
Posts: 114
vishwanath99 wrote:
vthanhnet wrote:
Cisco Modelling Labs use AutoNetkit to Visualization
Image


I need more info ..


What kind of info?




Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO