It is currently Thu Feb 21, 2019 6:08 pm


All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Possible new way to integrate New Cisco IOS's????
PostPosted: Mon May 02, 2011 11:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 4:30 pm
Posts: 31
Hi all,


i was reading the news and i found this out, i think all the devs here should take a serious look at it:

"Help Build the World's First Community-Funded CPU ASIC" http://hardware.slashdot.org/story/11/04/30/172214/Help-Build-the-Worlds-First-Community-Funded-CPU-ASIC

im not a developer so i wouldn't really know how and when can this be brought to reality, but i think a solution for running the latest IOS releases from latest Cisco Routers and for the possibility of emulating Cisco Switches can become a reality in a near future. If there is a chance of having ASIC cpu's would this mean GNS3 will support all this?

best regards,

ps: if this doesn't make any sense, just never mind.




Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Possible new way to integrate New Cisco IOS's????
PostPosted: Mon May 02, 2011 12:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2011 7:39 pm
Posts: 603
Location: Israel
No way.
They are building (engineering) their own ASICs, while no one working on reverse-engineering Cisco ASICs.
Not the same.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Possible new way to integrate New Cisco IOS's????
PostPosted: Mon May 02, 2011 1:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 4:30 pm
Posts: 31
Technologov wrote:
No way.
They are building (engineering) their own ASICs, while no one working on reverse-engineering Cisco ASICs.
Not the same.


ok, thanks for enlighten me on the subject! i had a small hope though... :(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Possible new way to integrate New Cisco IOS's????
PostPosted: Mon May 02, 2011 1:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 4:30 pm
Posts: 31
Technologov wrote:
No way.
They are building (engineering) their own ASICs, while no one working on reverse-engineering Cisco ASICs.
Not the same.



by the way, i have been reading on your work on porting gns to Vbox, excellent work man, excellent stuff!!!
would help you if i knew anything about coding but unfortunately i dont.

i'm ok with Photoshop if that could be of help, let me know,

my best regards and respect for your efforts!




Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO