GNS3
http://forum.gns3.net/

Patches for Qemu
http://forum.gns3.net/topic3224-50.html
Page 6 of 6

Author:  tranzitwww [ Mon Jun 18, 2012 12:49 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Patches for Qemu

Hi,

Great news :)
Thanks

Is this the file? -> http://redmine.gns3.net/attachments/dow ... in-one.exe

I'm testing now the last 0.8.3 version which should be released as soon as possible (when "all" bugs are killed)
Plus create a patched PuTTY version for GNS3 -> post15629.html#p15629
But I'll install this one as well to see how is moving :D

Cheers

Author:  benjamin [ Tue Jun 19, 2012 2:36 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Patches for Qemu

Yes but don't use it ;), it was just to share with another dev, and it turned out some modules were missing for the PDF export. I made a new one. If you really want to test, here it is: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/85538488/GNS3-0 ... in-one.exe -> But beware of the bugs, it's not even an alpha yet, and we still have to merge some stuff Jeremy did recently.

Great stuff for Putty ! Nice batch skills, it's rare :). I wonder if Jeremy will implement the logic in Python or keep the batch files. Be careful using the redmine, it's being fixed now, it won't allow any editing... I'll fix it soon.

PS: qemu monitor won't work on the windows version, we are still missing a non-broken qemu.exe ;).

Author:  tranzitwww [ Wed Jun 20, 2012 12:15 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Patches for Qemu

Haha, Only good news :)

Quote:
But beware of the bugs
Do they bite or sting? :)
Also in putty I'm fighting with some beasts, but I think that I'll win :)
I'll try to see how it works...

Quote:
Be careful using the redmine, it's being fixed now, it won't allow any editing... I'll fix it soon.
I better "piss off" Jeremy to make the changes now than to write them to redmine :)
Jeremy will hate me even more for this one :D
That's because in the last time redmine seems untouched, probably because it had technicals problems :)

Quote:
I wonder if Jeremy will implement the logic in Python or keep the batch files.
Some of them are already integrated, and the batch files are used as backups :) like the export-nvrams script or vbox-console

Quote:
PS: qemu monitor won't work on the windows version, we are still missing a non-broken qemu.exe ;).
Well, that is really bad :D
But why? I use 0.11.0 and this version works great with monitor support.
I've also made a patch (with some Bugs, beta), but a working one if you type the commands right...

Cheers!

Author:  benjamin [ Thu Jun 21, 2012 12:03 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Patches for Qemu

Well if your qemu.exe works with monitor then it should be ok. But on my platform, I can't get any output from Qemu, check this out: http://code.gns3.net/gns3-devel/file/92 ... mu.py#l898

I think we shouldn't stick with this version, hopefully the new one will completely remove the need for such tests in the code :).

Yeah the redmine is not updated because of the technical problems, I'll try to fix it tomorrow :).

Author:  tranzitwww [ Mon Jun 25, 2012 6:19 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Patches for Qemu

Quote:
Qemu-0.11 for Windows is buggy, and fails to return 'qemu --help' results.


No is not buggy :))
Probably Jeremy had modified it and now all Qemu output goes to a text file called "stdout.txt"
Honestly this version of Qemu is the most stable I've used till now :D
Attachment:
stdout.txt [7.6 KiB]
Downloaded 608 times
Quote:
QEMU PC emulator version 0.11.0, Copyright (c) 2003-2008 Fabrice Bellard


---[EDIT]---
grossmj wrote:
I didn't do something like this ;)

This is strange someone did it :)
I'll have to compile it myself to test all the stuff ...

Author:  benjamin [ Thu Jul 19, 2012 2:53 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Patches for Qemu

No, it's like that on windows. Anyways, I fixed it and monitor should work on Windows (wait for the 0.8.4 beta, which should come pretty soon!).

Check out http://redmine.gns3.net/issues/4#note-19 for more info about qemu support in GNS3.

Page 6 of 6 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/