It is currently Sat Oct 19, 2019 5:21 am


All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Which qemu?
PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2013 9:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2010 11:33 am
Posts: 1494
Location: Australia
post20314.html was getting too many threads, so I've started a new one.

From: topic4901.html - started May 2012
Quote:
For our all-in-one package we will still propose Qemu 0.11.0 by default and later add Qemu 1.1 as an option.[@Jeremy]

Honestly I only trust v0.11.0 ;))[@ tranzitwww]


So what is the status now? What is the recommended qemu version? apt-get install gives me v1.4 - hoping to test it today on ASA and JunOS

But I have no idea about windows - the all-in-one is still shipping with 0.11 (I think - please correct me if I'm wrong), and OS X comes with both 0.11 and 0.14 - but nothing in the 1.x range

This site http://kangaetakoto.blogspot.com.au/201 ... -qemu.html gives instructions on how to install qemu 1.5 on OS X, but mentions "If you want to run ASA on GNS3, you need UDP tunnel patched qemu 0.11 or 0.14 instad of the latest Qemu." Is this true (if not, we'd better let the guy know - don't know who runs this site)



_________________
RedNectar
http://rednectar.net
@rednectarchris
GNS3 WorkBench-a VMware image of Ubuntu with GNS3 and VPCS installed and a collection of exercises/labs


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Which qemu?
PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2013 9:38 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 1:41 pm
Posts: 2668
Location: Canada
Quote:
So what is the status now? What is the recommended qemu version? apt-get install gives me v1.4 - hoping to test it today on ASA and JunOS


  • On Linux recent Qemu versions (1.x) and older versions (patched) should work well.
  • On OSX only the shipped versions (0.11.0 an 0.14.0) in the DMG work well.
  • On Windows: this is mixed, most stable for everything is still 0.11.0 shipped in the all-in-one but if you are only interested in regular Qemu images and JunOS, this should work with recent Qemu versions (1.x).

I know this is a bit of a mess but Qemu is not a very consistent program on all OSes.

Quote:
This site http://kangaetakoto.blogspot.com.au/201 ... -qemu.html gives instructions on how to install qemu 1.5 on OS X, but mentions "If you want to run ASA on GNS3, you need UDP tunnel patched qemu 0.11 or 0.14 instad of the latest Qemu." Is this true (if not, we'd better let the guy know - don't know who runs this site)


I agree with that statement. Any recent version on OSX proved to be very unstable, especially with ASA. Jason can second that I think.

_________________
Jeremy, GNS3 Programmer & Benevolent Dictator for Life.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Which qemu?
PostPosted: Sat Jun 15, 2013 6:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2010 11:33 am
Posts: 1494
Location: Australia
Qemu 1.4 worked just fine for a Microcore Linux guest, but for an ASA (that worked under 0.11) I got this:
Attachment:
ASA with qemu 14.1.jpg
ASA with qemu 14.1.jpg [ 85.56 KiB | Viewed 4520 times ]

Two problems:

1. The Qemu guest window opened anyway (no big deal)
2. The console didn't get up - never got passed "Connected"

I stopped the ASA, restarted it and got a little bit further, but not as far as a console prompt.

So I'm guessing that 0.11 is probably the best to go with. But is there a way to make the patched Linux binary available, to save folk from having to go through the whole song-and-dance to make it work?

_________________
RedNectar
http://rednectar.net
@rednectarchris
GNS3 WorkBench-a VMware image of Ubuntu with GNS3 and VPCS installed and a collection of exercises/labs


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Which qemu?
PostPosted: Sat Jun 15, 2013 6:42 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 1:41 pm
Posts: 2668
Location: Canada
Quote:
But is there a way to make the patched Linux binary available, to save folk from having to go through the whole song-and-dance to make it work?


Here they are: https://sourceforge.net/projects/gns-3/ ... emu/Linux/

These binaries should also work on other Linuxes than Ubuntu.

_________________
Jeremy, GNS3 Programmer & Benevolent Dictator for Life.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Which qemu?
PostPosted: Sat Jun 15, 2013 8:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2010 11:33 am
Posts: 1494
Location: Australia
I see. I should have looked harder. I was looking at http://www.gns3.net/download/

I appreciate keeping all links up to date is a nightmare. But there are a few others that probably should be updated - perhaps to a more general location. But I'll put that in a separate post.

Chris

_________________
RedNectar
http://rednectar.net
@rednectarchris
GNS3 WorkBench-a VMware image of Ubuntu with GNS3 and VPCS installed and a collection of exercises/labs


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Which qemu?
PostPosted: Sat Jun 15, 2013 9:12 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 1:41 pm
Posts: 2668
Location: Canada
Quote:
I see. I should have looked harder. I was looking at http://www.gns3.net/download/

I appreciate keeping all links up to date is a nightmare. But there are a few others that probably should be updated - perhaps to a more general location. But I'll put that in a separate post.


I agree, the links should be on http://www.gns3.net/download/

Working on GNS3 takes lot of my time but this will be done soon (I was planning to do that this month).

Cheers,

_________________
Jeremy, GNS3 Programmer & Benevolent Dictator for Life.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Which qemu?
PostPosted: Sun Jun 16, 2013 1:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 1:34 pm
Posts: 214
Quote:
Any recent version on OSX proved to be very unstable, especially with ASA. Jason can second that I think.

I do second what Jeremy stated. In general Qemu is a strange beast, at least on OS X. ASA, IDS, and NX-OS seem to be the most persnickety. ASA gets the attention because it's what most folks want to use.

<edit>
Quote:
These binaries should also work on other Linuxes than Ubuntu.
Here they are: http://sourceforge.net/projects/gns-3/files/Qemu/Linux/

I've tested my Linux compiles of Qemu on quite a few distros, and they seem to work well. The main thing you have to watch out for are lib files that are specific to your distro. In general 0.11.0 is the most portable, and requires the least hassel. In my experience Qemu-0.11.0 is the most reliable across the board (OSX, Linux, and Windows).

-Jason

_________________
J.Neumann, GNS3 Contributor & Forum Moderator (Minion ID: sin.zx81.1981ad)
Author: Cisco Routers for Small Business (Apress)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Which qemu?
PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2013 10:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2012 11:19 pm
Posts: 143
Location: U.K.
As I understand it, in GNS3 Qemu is launched via QemuWrapper - is there any way of seeing the command line that is passed to Qemu/Pemu as that would be really useful to debug Qemu startups?

rednectar wrote:
Qemu 1.4 worked just fine for a Microcore Linux guest, but for an ASA (that worked under 0.11) I got this:
ASA with qemu 14.1.jpg
Two problems:

1. The Qemu guest window opened anyway (no big deal)
2. The console didn't get up - never got passed "Connected"

I stopped the ASA, restarted it and got a little bit further, but not as far as a console prompt.

So I'm guessing that 0.11 is probably the best to go with. But is there a way to make the patched Linux binary available, to save folk from having to go through the whole song-and-dance to make it work?


The command-line parameters for consoles changed with later (post 1.x I think) versions of Qemu, as did the UDP tunnel syntax.

For ASA842, make sure you have console=ttyS0,9600n8 in you append statement and -nographic in your Qemu command line.

Here's a script I use to call Qemu 1.2.1 from a shell (OSX 10.6) and connect to the console via telnet (localhost 4444):
Code:
qemu-system-i386 \
-cpu pentium2 \
-m 512 \
-net nic,vlan=0,macaddr=00:aa:00:18:6c:00 \
-net nic,vlan=1,macaddr=00:aa:00:18:6c:01 \
-net socket,vlan=1,udp=127.0.0.1:10843,localaddr=127.0.0.1:10842  \
-net nic,vlan=2,macaddr=00:aa:00:18:6c:02 \
-net nic,vlan=3,macaddr=00:aa:00:18:6c:03 \
-net nic,vlan=4,macaddr=00:aa:00:18:6c:04 \
-net nic,vlan=5,macaddr=00:aa:00:18:6c:05 \
-kernel asa842-vmlinuz \
-append "ide_generic.probe_mask=0x01 ide_core.chs=0.0:980,16,32 console=ttyS0,9600n8 \
bigphysarea=65536 auto nousb ide1=noprobe no-hlt" \
-initrd asa842-initrd.gz \
-icount auto \
-nographic \
FLASH \
-serial mon:telnet::4444,server,nowait \
-writeconfig working.cfg


I also use -serial mon:telnet::4444,server,nowait which puts the Qemu monitor in the ASA console - Ctrl-A h brings up a menu and it allows me to terminate Qemu.

I'm also experimenting with the -daemonize option but I've not figured out yet how this interacts with -nographic.

_________________
GNS3 0.8.4 running on Windows 8.1
GNS3 0.8.4 running on CentOS 6.5


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Which qemu?
PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2013 10:47 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2012 11:19 pm
Posts: 143
Location: U.K.
grossmj wrote:
Quote:
This site http://kangaetakoto.blogspot.com.au/201 ... -qemu.html gives instructions on how to install qemu 1.5 on OS X, but mentions "If you want to run ASA on GNS3, you need UDP tunnel patched qemu 0.11 or 0.14 instad of the latest Qemu." Is this true (if not, we'd better let the guy know - don't know who runs this site)


I agree with that statement. Any recent version on OSX proved to be very unstable, especially with ASA. Jason can second that I think.


That blog post no longer exists :( [Edit by RedNectar: It does exist - but when Jeremy cut & pasted the original quote the url got truncated. I've repaired them all now http://kangaetakoto.blogspot.com.au/201 ... -qemu.html]

I had reasonable success running ASA842 with Qemu 1.2.1 on OSX 10.6 which I had to build from source. I've just checked and found 1.4.0 in my MacPorts - this built OK.

My notes on building the above and fixing the tap interface issue in case anyone finds them useful -
https://docs.google.com/document/d/1RGh1iDBXAs-4CGw1CFAtsfx9uwdXfaKS8tf8HzXyWuo/edit?usp=sharing

_________________
GNS3 0.8.4 running on Windows 8.1
GNS3 0.8.4 running on CentOS 6.5


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Which qemu?
PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2013 9:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2010 11:33 am
Posts: 1494
Location: Australia
Thanks for sharing your notes.

Re seeing the command line that qemuwrapper passes to qemu, just start qemuwrapper BEFORE you start GNS3 - you'll get a message about qemuwrapper not being shut down when you exit GNS3, but in the window where you stared qemuwrapper you will see something like:

Code:
Qemu path is now qemu.exe
Qemu-img path is now qemu-img.exe
Working directory is now c:\users\chris\appdata\local\temp\GNS3_mkjbw4\working
!! ASA1.console = 3001
!! ASA1.kernel = C:\Users\chris\GNS3\Images\ASA\asa842-vmlinuz
!! ASA1.netcard = e1000
!! ASA1.ram = 1024
!! ASA1.kernel_cmdline = ide_generic.probe_mask=0x01 ide_core.chs=0.0:980,16,32 auto nousb console=ttyS0,9600 bigphysarea=65536
!! ASA1.initrd = C:\Users\chris\GNS3\Images\ASA\asa842-initrd.gz
!! ASA1.options = -icount auto -hdachs 980,16,32
Formatting 'c:\users\chris\appdata\local\temp\GNS3_mkjbw4\working\ASA1\FLASH', fmt=qcow2 size=268435456 encryption=off cluster_size=0
qemu-img.exe returned with 0
Binary: qemu.exe
Using the old qemu syntax
Starting Qemu:  qemu.exe -name ASA1 -m 1024 -hda c:\users\chris\appdata\local\temp\GNS3_mkjbw4\working\ASA1\FLASH -kernel C:\Users\chris\GNS3\Images\ASA\asa842-vmlinuz -initrd C:\Users\chris\GNS3\Images\ASA\asa842-initrd.gz -append ide_generic.probe_mask=0x01 ide_core.chs=0.0:980,16,32 auto nousb console=ttyS0,9600 bigphysarea=65536 -net nic,vlan=0,macaddr=00:00:ab:ea:1c:00,model=e1000 -net nic,vlan=1,macaddr=00:00:ab:94:96:01,model=e1000 -net nic,vlan=2,macaddr=00:00:ab:6d:14:02,model=e1000 -net nic,vlan=3,macaddr=00:00:ab:05:6f:03,model=e1000 -net nic,vlan=4,macaddr=00:00:ab:0a:4f:04,model=e1000 -net nic,vlan=5,macaddr=00:00:ab:9a:a6:05,model=e1000 -serial telnet::3001,server,nowait -icount auto -hdachs 980,16,32
Qemu started with PID 2628
Setting priority class to BELOW_NORMAL


HTH



_________________
RedNectar
http://rednectar.net
@rednectarchris
GNS3 WorkBench-a VMware image of Ubuntu with GNS3 and VPCS installed and a collection of exercises/labs


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO