GNS3
http://forum.gns3.net/

GNS 0.8.3 pre-release testing
http://forum.gns3.net/topic4942.html
Page 1 of 10

Author:  grossmj [ Tue May 29, 2012 4:49 am ]
Post subject:  GNS 0.8.3 pre-release testing

Hello,

We are about to release GNS3 version 0.8.3 in a few days. This version fixes lot of issues and introduce some new features.

The goal here is to give the chance for some advanced users to test this pre-release version and validate that everything works as expected.

[UPDATED 11/07/2012]

IMPORTANT: please uninstall any previous test version before installing a new one

Windows all-in-one => download this file and change the extension to .exe

Mac OS X DMG (OSX 10.7 Lion only) => download it here.

Linux/Unix => download it here.

Here is the CHANGELOG:

New features

  • Option to freely use the first VBox interface inside VMs (i.e. eth0 on Linux).
  • New base configuration (startup-config) for devices with NM-16ESW (named baseconfig_sw.txt).
  • Console and headless mode support for VirtualBox devices.
  • Embedded console/terminal server to access VirtualBox VM consoles using Telnet.
  • Support for drag & drop of topology files inside GNS3.
  • Double quote support for Qemu options and ASA kernel/initrd command lines.
  • Import & export for GNS3 configuration file (gns3.ini).
  • Global TCP port tracker to allocate ports and avoid conflicts (console + AUX ports for IOS routers and console ports for Qemu-like/VirtualBox devices are tracked)
  • Scripts for using consoles with VBox VMs (Windows only).
  • Backup nvram export when Dynamips has crashed.
  • New command line option for patched Putty on Windows (for details: post15744.html).
  • Experimental live pipe capture (Windows only).
  • Option (activated by default) to use GNS3 identifier names as hostnames for Vbox nodes.
  • Option (deactivated by default) to automatically close associated terminal program(s) when closing a node.
  • IPv6 support (with correct functions).
  • Support for binding addresses when loading a topology
  • Track opened consoles in order to close them when deleting a node (as an option).
  • New Dynamips 0.2.8-RC4 community (full IPv6 support), only included in Windows all-in-one package for now.
  • A patched putty is included (Windows packages)

Fixes and other improvements

  • Fixed issue when saving as a project.
  • Workaround: sparse memory feature is not activated on c2600 and c1700 platforms because Dynamips can freeze after IOS restarts (Windows only).
  • Added Idle PC help button to gives some hints how to get good idle pc values.
  • Prevent tail processes staying in memory after stopping captures.
  • Fixed/improved some console command lines (SecureCRT, TeraTerm, Putty)
  • Fixed issue when connecting recent Qemu (new -net syntax) to other non-Qemu devices.
  • Fixed vboxwrapper loading issue for DMG version on OSX.
  • Fixed rpcap interface name parsing on Windows.
  • Improved securecrt.vbs to "press" a enter into the device console to show the prompt.
  • Modified default IOS startup-config (baseconfig.txt).
  • Handle connection lost during Idle pc calculation.
  • Warn users if their working directories are not accessible and/or writable.
  • Allow dash and brackets for device hostnames.
  • Option to clear stopped captures from the captures dock.
  • Italian and Chinese translations updated.
  • Fixed bug that prevented loading topologies with non-existing IOS paths.
  • Some minor fixes for recent files menu (add saved file paths, order, non existing path entries are removed etc.)
  • New key shortcuts for object rotation (notes, ellipses, rectangles). ALT and + (or P) / ALT and - (or M).
  • Removed default shell execution for console programs.
  • Default delay between each device start when starting all devices is now 1 second.
  • Auto-increment base AUX port for external hypervisors.
  • MessageBox "Object moved to a background layer ..." is now displayed only once by execution.
  • Fixed issue when starting a capture on a node without any links (!)
  • Fixed problem with version comparison in "Check for Update" feature.
  • Fixed multi-window opening issue with snapshot dialog.
  • Added recent files button for the project window.
  • Press escape to stop adding a link.
  • Detect old GNS3 configuration and ask user to clear it.
  • Fixed minor issues with the Ethernet Switch.
  • Prevent capture for Pemu and decorative nodes.
  • Show VirtualBox version in ver command.
  • Support for more characters (e.g. #) in annotations.
  • New wrappers installation directory on Linux.
  • Prevent to use the same VBox VM multiple times.
  • Check that the first 10 ports of every TCP base are free to use when testing the settings in preferences.
  • Fixed minor issue with path normalization on Windows.
  • Time reference for debugs, auto saving messages and logged exceptions.
  • Log file dynagen_exception.log has been renamed import_exception.log (date + GNS3 version is added into the file).
  • Command 'show ports' to display all port allocations.
  • NVRAM configuration extractor utility for Windows.
  • Smarter handling of errors when starting/stopping/suspending all nodes.
  • Do not show special cursors when a rectangle or ellipse is on the background layer.
  • Qemuwrapper base UDP has been changed from 20000 to 40000.
  • Qemuwrapper base console has been changed from 3000 to 3001.
  • VBoxwrapper base console has been changed from 3900 to 3501.

Thanks for your feedback,

Author:  SARS [ Tue May 29, 2012 6:33 am ]
Post subject:  Re: GNS 0.8.3 pre-release testing

Thanks. Waiting this for so long! I will test and feedback if get problem :)

Author:  Khaled [ Tue May 29, 2012 7:05 am ]
Post subject:  Re: GNS 0.8.3 pre-release testing

Thanks for that Jeremy.

I see that the Virtualbox Mac OS X bug hasn't been fixed yet, has it?

Cheers

Author:  UldisD [ Tue May 29, 2012 9:21 am ]
Post subject:  Re: GNS 0.8.3 pre-release testing

Jeremy,

coud you add button on bar, what calls VPC.exe out?

And the problems with ASA, Juniper consoles...doesnt want to connect, refuse connection.

Author:  grossmj [ Tue May 29, 2012 3:52 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: GNS 0.8.3 pre-release testing

Hi,

Quote:
I see that the Virtualbox Mac OS X bug hasn't been fixed yet, has it?


It is fixed => Fixed vboxwrapper loading issue for DMG version on OSX.

Quote:
coud you add button on bar, what calls VPC.exe out?


Well, we plan to do something better than that but this unfortunately won't be for this version.

Quote:
And the problems with ASA, Juniper consoles...doesnt want to connect, refuse connection.


Can you explain a bit more the problem? Does someone else experience these issues?

Thanks,

Author:  UldisD [ Tue May 29, 2012 6:07 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: GNS 0.8.3 pre-release testing

grossmj wrote:
Hi,

Quote:
I see that the Virtualbox Mac OS X bug hasn't been fixed yet, has it?


It is fixed => Fixed vboxwrapper loading issue for DMG version on OSX.

Quote:
coud you add button on bar, what calls VPC.exe out?


Well, we plan to do something better than that but this unfortunately won't be for this version.

Quote:
And the problems with ASA, Juniper consoles...doesnt want to connect, refuse connection.


Can you explain a bit more the problem? Does someone else experience these issues?

Thanks,

Jeremy,

I know and testing GNS software very log time ago.

it wasn't discovered in previous versions. Specially ASA and Juniper console problems.
Now in new version I can start all qemu devices ASA, juniper, IDS, they are green and shown as working, but no way to open a console.
Routers starts and have no problems, consoles work fine.
I m using Secure CRT, it put out "Refused connection". I tried integrated Putty, windws opens and immediately disappears. Doesnt work.
Also I get that all my old topologies wannt opens in new...
Old topologies sometimes crashes on last device when I start using mass start. Could not start VM instance or some error.

This a main problem why I refuse new and nice GNS:).

New version installation was tested on clean PC, removing all old GNS files and installations. And then 8.0.3.
Win7 64 bit PC

The best version what Im using and very happy is first release of Technologov with Vbox edition 8.0.1. Never seen any problems. Opens everything withot probs.

Please check it out where can be this problem.

In GNS prefernces Im using other path to qemu, qemu wrapper (my specific installation place), but it seems not involve that console problem.
Also provided CRT option wannt work too. Im using my own string, that works always. c:\PROGRA~1\VANDYK~1\SecureCRT\SecureCRT.exe /T /N %d /telnet 127.0.0.1 %p.
Sure I want to get worked new version, just for tests and new visuals. But for work with my topos, better choice is 8.0.1 Vbox edition.
Uldis

Author:  aksplease [ Tue May 29, 2012 6:14 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: GNS 0.8.3 pre-release testing

hi grossmj

Thanks for your best effort

1.why you have not added the recent patches of Qemu ?
2. can i test the runing of dynamips , virtual box or qemu after making a topology without deleting my current topology as currently if i test all those things it ask me to delete my running topology ?

Author:  grossmj [ Tue May 29, 2012 7:39 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: GNS 0.8.3 pre-release testing

Hi UldisD,

The best would be to manually start qemuwrapper in a console, configure GNS3 to use it and try ASA/JunOS. That way we can this what qemuwrapper exactly gets and the command line used to start Qemu etc.

Thanks,

Author:  UldisD [ Wed May 30, 2012 6:21 am ]
Post subject:  Re: GNS 0.8.3 pre-release testing

Thanks jeremy,

but problem still persist.
All about qemuwrapper.
Do not wanna start automatically and thats it.

I'v tested on 32 bit Win 7 PC, everything works fine, but not on My 64 bit PC.

No probs with old topos but only where only routers are.
sorry, something wrong with qemu, or qemu wrapper.

Uldis

Author:  Raizo62 [ Wed May 30, 2012 3:30 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: GNS 0.8.3 pre-release testing

grossmj wrote:
  • New option to freely use the first VBox interface inside VMs (i.e. eth0 on Linux).
it's not perfect yet ;-) : the name of this interface on GNS3 is e1, while this name on Linux is e0 (eth0)

Olds bugs found
  • As for GNS3 0.8.2 BETA2 : When i create my own symbol : Name "Guest VPCS", Type "Cloud" and picture "computer", it has also the proprieties of the symbol "Host" (nio_gen_eth:). Or I used the wrong method.
  • On linux, a lab with 1 Router and 1 VMBox (Linux), and the option "Bring console window to front" enabled. The window of the Router doesn't appear when I double-click on it. I have the same with gns3-vbe 0.8.1. Known bug because of "experimental feature" ?

Features Requests (if it isn't too late)
  • Can you add an option to turn on from the start "show interface label" ?
  • The menu to select the virtual machine to a "VBOX-Host" only shows the virtual machines that are not already in the laboratory.
  • Can we have an option for each VM-Box that indicates of to launch it in the background (VBoxManage startvm "VM name" --type headless or VBoxHeadless --startvm <uuid|name> ) ? Only if it is enabled, the gns3's menu has an option "console" (as for Router) who launches an command given in the interface of configuration. We should have access to a few parameters for configure this command (port or name of the VM).

Page 1 of 10 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/