GNS3
http://forum.gns3.net/

GNS 0.8.3 pre-release testing
http://forum.gns3.net/topic4942-30.html
Page 4 of 10

Author:  lamrau [ Fri Jun 08, 2012 12:06 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: GNS 0.8.3 pre-release testing

Hi,

I think there is still some vbox-dynamips interconnection bug.

I have a complicated topology, just to give a big picture, three of my Juniper SRX`s are bridged to host eth interfaces so I can use them within GNS3. All of them are connected to dynamips cisco acting as a core network. IPSEC VPN`s, MPLS, BGP,OSPF etc. all that is fine. I am using vbox as end station (http server, icmp, ftp,dynamic vpn,). Now, in such configuration sometimes, or actually quite often all traffic is dropped somewhere, basic interconnection between SRX1 - Cisco - SRX2, vbox-cisco, SRX-vbox stops and I am not really sure what cause that. Issue occur only when more that two vbox are running. What makes this even more odd, sometimes all lab is running for 2-3h with no issue, sometimes crushed right after a few minutes.

In a big projects it is very frustrating, I never know if there is a problem with interconnection or something is messed up with my configs. Always running some ping in the network and when this fail, GNS3,vbox and dynamips needs to be restarted.

Does anyone face the same problem ?

P.S

I am using ubuntu 10.04 as the host but it is exactly the same on other releases.
All vbox are soft cloned, reinitialized MAC, different guest OS versions

Very strange, freaks me up and I have no idea how to troubleshoot that.

Author:  cmcbride [ Fri Jun 08, 2012 2:55 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: GNS 0.8.3 pre-release testing

The download links to minus.com are not working for me. Is the 8.3 hosted anywhere else?

Author:  tranzitwww [ Sat Jun 09, 2012 10:13 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: GNS 0.8.3 pre-release testing

Hi,

* stopped router + dead dynamips + save = error

Demo:
1 - Start GNS3
2 - Save a project
3 - Add 2 Routers (Minimum)
4 - Start R2 (R1 must be stopped)
5 - Kill Dynamips :)
6 - Save the project (CTRL+S)
7 - Error while extracting R1 config with normal method :D

The idea is to have a mix of stopped/running devices on the map + a crashed dynamips ...

Code:
01:10:33: DEBUG (1): sending to dynamips at 127.0.0.1:7200 -> vm extract_config R2
01:10:33: Dynamips process 127.0.0.1:7200 has crashed
01:10:33: Exporting R2 configuration to X:\...\configs\R2.recovered.cfg using recovery method
01:10:33: DEBUG (1): sending to dynamips at 127.0.0.1:7200 -> vm extract_config R1
01:10:33: Dynamips process 127.0.0.1:7200 has crashed
---------Traceback lines (saved in exception.log)----------
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "GNS3\Workspace.pyo", line 1368, in __action_Save
  File "GNS3\NETFile.pyo", line 984, in export_net_file
  File "GNS3\NETFile.pyo", line 947, in export_router_config
UnboundLocalError: local variable 'config' referenced before assignment
-----------------------------------------------------------


* Debug error while adding a new router (R26)
This is happening each time a new hypervisor is created (one error per hypervisor)
By sending this command "set_tsg"....
R4 - c3640
R5 - c1710
R16 - c7206
R20 - c3725
R14 - 2621
R18 - c7206
R25 - c1710

Code:
01:31:23: DEBUG (2): Router R26 created
01:31:23: DEBUG (1): sending to dynamips at 127.0.0.1:7202 -> vm set_tsg R4 0
01:31:23: DEBUG (1): returned -> ["202-Unknown command 'set_tsg'"]
01:31:23: DEBUG (1): sending to dynamips at 127.0.0.1:7203 -> vm set_tsg R5 0
01:31:23: DEBUG (1): returned -> ["202-Unknown command 'set_tsg'"]
01:31:24: DEBUG (1): sending to dynamips at 127.0.0.1:7200 -> vm set_tsg R16 0
01:31:24: DEBUG (1): returned -> ["202-Unknown command 'set_tsg'"]
01:31:24: DEBUG (1): sending to dynamips at 127.0.0.1:7201 -> vm set_tsg R20 0
01:31:24: DEBUG (1): returned -> ["202-Unknown command 'set_tsg'"]
01:31:24: DEBUG (1): sending to dynamips at 127.0.0.1:7206 -> vm set_tsg R14 0
01:31:24: DEBUG (1): returned -> ["202-Unknown command 'set_tsg'"]
01:31:24: DEBUG (1): sending to dynamips at 127.0.0.1:7207 -> vm set_tsg R18 0
01:31:24: DEBUG (1): returned -> ["202-Unknown command 'set_tsg'"]
01:31:24: DEBUG (1): sending to dynamips at 127.0.0.1:7205 -> vm set_tsg R8 0
01:31:24: DEBUG (1): returned -> ["202-Unknown command 'set_tsg'"]
01:31:24: DEBUG (1): sending to dynamips at 127.0.0.1:7208 -> vm set_tsg R25 0
01:31:24: DEBUG (1): returned -> ["202-Unknown command 'set_tsg'"]


* Port Tracker problem!
1 - Add some devices, last of them with console port 2047
2 - Start a daemon on port 2048 (NCAT.exe --nodns --telnet --exec "cmd" --listen 127.0.0.1 2048 --keep-open)
3 - Add a new device (Dynamips here) with console 2048 (same as the test daemon, ports are in order)
4 - Start the device with console port 2048
5 - Start putty on that Router and guess what: Says Microsoft! :)
6 - Stop NCAT daemon (Dynamips remains ON), and try again with putty. Now is ok -> "Connected to Dynamips VM "R27" (ID 48, type c2600) - Console port"

PS: No crashes in the process. All good! (Only on windows) ;)

Code:
netstat -nabt | grep -E "2048|\["
[dynamips.exe]  TCP    0.0.0.0:2048          0.0.0.0:0          LISTENING
[ncat.exe]      TCP    127.0.0.1:2048        0.0.0.0:0          LISTENING
[ncat.exe]      TCP    127.0.0.1:2048        127.0.0.1:16018    ESTABLISHED
[putty.exe]     TCP    127.0.0.1:16018       127.0.0.1:2048     ESTABLISHED

Attachment:
Windows_Sockets.jpg
Windows_Sockets.jpg [ 16.91 KiB | Viewed 5302 times ]

Author:  grossmj [ Sun Jun 10, 2012 6:36 am ]
Post subject:  Re: GNS 0.8.3 pre-release testing

Hi,

I fixed them excepting this one which leaves me totally clueless ...

Quote:
* Debug error while adding a new router (R26)
This is happening each time a new hypervisor is created (one error per hypervisor)
By sending this command "set_tsg"....
R4 - c3640
R5 - c1710
R16 - c7206
R20 - c3725
R14 - 2621
R18 - c7206
R25 - c1710


Cheers,

Author:  UldisD [ Mon Jun 11, 2012 5:35 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: GNS 0.8.3 pre-release testing

Hi Jeremy,

What are plans, when the final release 0.8.3 will be out.
Waiting fo my students:)
Available pre release is fine, but waiting final.

Author:  grossmj [ Mon Jun 11, 2012 7:58 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: GNS 0.8.3 pre-release testing

Hi,

Quote:
What are plans, when the final release 0.8.3 will be out.
Waiting fo my students:)
Available pre release is fine, but waiting final.


I have delayed the release a bit to include console and headless support for VBox as well as fixing some bugs. I'll post another pre release soon for everyone to test and then if everything is ok after a few days we can do the official release.

Cheers,

Author:  tranzitwww [ Mon Jun 11, 2012 8:00 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: GNS 0.8.3 pre-release testing

Hi,

Again port tracker (is ok for 127.0.0.1, but not for all)

Quote:
NCAT.exe --nodns --telnet --exec "cmd" --listen 0.0.0.0 2024 --keep-open

22:56:26: DEBUG (1): returned -> ["100-VM 'R6' created"]
22:56:26: DEBUG (1): PORT TRACKER: allocate port 2024
22:56:49: DEBUG (2): Start console with: putty.exe -sr -wt "R6" -telnet 127.0.0.1 2024 <- Goes to NCAT

Author:  grossmj [ Wed Jun 13, 2012 4:00 am ]
Post subject:  Re: GNS 0.8.3 pre-release testing

Hi,

I've updated the packages + CHANGELOG (see first post).

Quote:
Again port tracker (is ok for 127.0.0.1, but not for all)


I use the host (127.0.0.1 or any other selected binding) int bind(). I could use 0.0.0.0 for the bind test but what if the user has more than one network adapter? For instance can we consider a port has taken if it is only listening on one adapter and not on a second?

Cheers,

Author:  robeen [ Wed Jun 13, 2012 7:40 am ]
Post subject:  Re: GNS 0.8.3 pre-release testing

Hi!

Regarding vboxwrapper on osx.

Something with the file permissions still, but after 'chmod a+x vboxwrapper.py' I get:

'Could not connect to vboxwrapper at localhost:11525'

Code:
sh-3.2# python vboxwrapper.py
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "vboxwrapper.py", line 43, in <module>
    from tcp_pipe_proxy import PipeProxy
ImportError: No module named tcp_pipe_proxy

Author:  grossmj [ Wed Jun 13, 2012 7:58 am ]
Post subject:  Re: GNS 0.8.3 pre-release testing

Hi,

My bad I forgot to include one file. I updated the package for OSX.

I'll fix these permission issues later.

Cheers,

Page 4 of 10 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/