It is currently Fri Jan 28, 2022 10:03 pm


All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Request for feature: console mode for VirtualBox
PostPosted: Mon May 28, 2012 9:18 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 9:16 am
Posts: 87
Can we have an option for each VM-Box that indicates of to launch it in the background (VBoxManage startvm "VM name" --type headless or VBoxHeadless --startvm <uuid|name> ) ?
Only if it is enabled, the gns3's menu has an option "console" (as for Router) who launches an command given in the interface of configuration. We should have access to a few parameters for configure this command (port or name of the VM).

Thus we could do copy-paste with VirtualBox server without a GUI.

By default, this option would be desactivated

Before, we must also verify that the serial or telnet access is fully functional



_________________
Live Raizo / Live Linux to simulate networks and performing system administration experiments.
* Last Release : v5.14.09.02p
[ http://sourceforge.net/projects/live-raizo ]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Request for feature: console mode for VirtualBox
PostPosted: Wed Jun 06, 2012 8:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 6:51 am
Posts: 3
Same request, this is a good feature request.

In practice I'm using Virtualbox instead of Qemu for JUNOS emulation prior to following benefits:
1. Virtualbox can run in multicore CPU mode while Qemu can only run in single core, so the performance is faster and better
2. Good managing images for multiple same VMs (Junos) by using Virtualbox snapshot features.

Hope in next GNS3 release, this feature will be available.
Thanks for your good work GNS3 teams.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Request for feature: console mode for VirtualBox
PostPosted: Wed Jun 06, 2012 8:04 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 1:41 pm
Posts: 2668
Location: Canada
Hi,

Ok I'll see if we can include these. This will delay the release a bit more but I think it worth it.

Quote:
Good managing images for multiple same VMs (Junos) by using Virtualbox snapshot features.


I have a question about JunOS on VirtualBox: does multicast work? (e.g. OSPF etc.). What version of JunOS do you use?

Thanks,

_________________
Jeremy, GNS3 Programmer & Benevolent Dictator for Life.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Request for feature: console mode for VirtualBox
PostPosted: Wed Jun 06, 2012 11:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 6:51 am
Posts: 3
grossmj wrote:
I have a question about JunOS on VirtualBox: does multicast work? (e.g. OSPF etc.). What version of JunOS do you use?


Hi Jeremy,
I'm using following versions in my running host OS Windows 7 64-bit:
1. GNS3 0.8.3 pre-release testing (latest version)
2. Virtualbox 4.1.16 r78094 (latest version)
3. JUNOS 10.4R6.5

And multicast working fine (e.g. OSPF) !
I think there's no more issue for multicast on current release of Virtualbox.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Request for feature: console mode for VirtualBox
PostPosted: Fri Jun 08, 2012 4:29 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 1:41 pm
Posts: 2668
Location: Canada
Hi,

Quote:
Can we have an option for each VM-Box that indicates of to launch it in the background (VBoxManage startvm "VM name" --type headless or VBoxHeadless --startvm <uuid|name> ) ?


Good news. I've implemented the headless mode.

Quote:
Only if it is enabled, the gns3's menu has an option "console" (as for Router) who launches an command given in the interface of configuration. We should have access to a few parameters for configure this command (port or name of the VM).


I am still working on that one.

Cheers,

_________________
Jeremy, GNS3 Programmer & Benevolent Dictator for Life.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Request for feature: console mode for VirtualBox
PostPosted: Fri Jun 08, 2012 6:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 9:16 am
Posts: 87
grossmj wrote:
Hi,

Quote:
Can we have an option for each VM-Box that indicates of to launch it in the background (VBoxManage startvm "VM name" --type headless or VBoxHeadless --startvm <uuid|name> ) ?


Good news. I've implemented the headless mode.

Quote:
Only if it is enabled, the gns3's menu has an option "console" (as for Router) who launches an command given in the interface of configuration. We should have access to a few parameters for configure this command (port or name of the VM).


I am still working on that one.

Cheers,
Great. Thanks :-)

_________________
Live Raizo / Live Linux to simulate networks and performing system administration experiments.
* Last Release : v5.14.09.02p
[ http://sourceforge.net/projects/live-raizo ]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Request for feature: console mode for VirtualBox
PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2012 12:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2008 10:31 am
Posts: 555
Location: Slovakia
Quote:
And multicast working fine (e.g. OSPF) !
I think there's no more issue for multicast on current release of Virtualbox.


I can confirm that multicast is working for VirtualBox. Tested with GNS3 0.8.3 pre-release and VBox 4.1.18. Feature - console mode for Vbox is so cute! Maybe I should start to think about using Vbox for my Juniper studies ;)
Anyway, a good job was done with 0.8.3! My thank goes to all developers and testers.



_________________
Brezular

All my tutorials can be found here:
http://brezular.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO