GNS3
http://forum.gns3.net/

Multiple Juniper router Lab in gns3
http://forum.gns3.net/topic3015.html
Page 1 of 1

Author:  muralirajanm [ Tue Jan 11, 2011 5:58 pm ]
Post subject:  Multiple Juniper router Lab in gns3

Hi, All


Download all the required software from the Links mentioned in http://muralirajanm.blogspot.com/ and
keep all in a folder.
(Thanks for all forum related to gns3 juniper discussion)
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Steps for installing BSD OS in qemu:
-------------------------------------

* Extract qemu-0.11.0.patched.win32.zip and Keep as folder named Qemu.
* Place 4.11-RELEASE-i386-miniinst.iso inside qemu folder.
* To create Junos Binary image apply the below command
qemu-img.exe create junos-binary.img -f qcow2 8G

* Now junos-binary.img is created with max space of 8Gb.
* To insert BSD OS cd use the below command
qemu -m 256 -hda junos-binary.img -cdrom 4.11-RELEASE-i386-miniinst.iso
Press ctrl+alt to come out of qemu window.

* choose express installation
* Press A
* Press Q

* Enter Standard installation.

Now partion creation,
----------------------
* press c
Type 2048M select FS mount point /
* Again press c
Type 1024M select swap
* Again press c
Type 100M select FS mount point /config
* Again press c
Selct remaing space selct FS mount point /var

selct Q

* Selct option 8----> Users
for port collection say NO.
then select exit

* select Installation media as CD/DVD

* User confirmation requested press- yes
Installation started..........
* User confirmation requested press- yes
* set the root password
Then Exit...

Now BSD is installed in virtual machine.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Steps to install Junos OS in BSD OS.
-----------------------------------

* Use Hjsplit.exe to join all the splitted junos os file.
* Use freeisocreator.exe to make junos os into iso image so that we can mount like cd and install it
,instead of going for ftp to load that file into junos-binary.img
* Place junos.iso inside quemu folder.
* Use below command to boot junos-binary.img with junos.iso as mounted as CD.
qemu -m 256 -hda junos-binary.img -cdrom junos.iso


Steps to untar the signed junos image in iso :
------------------------------------------------
#mount /cdrom
#cd /var/tmp
#mkdir junos
#cd junos
#tar zxvf /cdrom/jinstall-10.1R1.8-domestic-olive.tgz

Then untar the unsigned image:
--------------------------------
#mkdir jinst
#cd jinst
#tar zxvf ../jbundle-10.1R1.8-domestic.tgz
#cd..
Extract the pkgtools.tgz file and replace the checkpic binary inside with /usr/bin/true :
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
#mkdir pkgtools
#cd pkgtools
#tar zxvf ../pkgtools.tgz
#cd bin
#cp /usr/bin/true ./checkpic
#cd ..

Create tar for pkgtools then remove the directory:
---------------------------------------------------
#tar zcvf ../pkgtools.tgz *
#cd ..
#rm -rf pkgtools(remove that folder)

Create tar for the new jinstall package with modified checkpic
--------------------------------------------------------------
#tar zcvf /var/tmp/juniper.tgz *
(Will take more time to zip depend on system config)
Then install the new jinstall with bsd pkg_add tool:
-------------------------------------------------------
#pkg_add -f /var/tmp/juniper.tgz

Will take some time to process.......


It will ask to reboot to continue the installation.
#init 6
then after it started reboot just close the qemu.
Now put the below command and see the installation of junos
------------------------------------------------------------

qemu -L . -m 512 -hda junos-binary.img -serial telnet:127.0.0.1:1001,server,nowait,nodelay –localtime

* now telnet 127.0.0.1 1001 to see the installation


One installation is finished and prompt is returned press Crtl+Alt+2 then type “q” press enter

Now junos-binary.img is ready for gns3.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Steps for adding 2 juniper router in gns3 with external world communication::(GNS3 version 0.7.2)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

* copy the junos-binary.img separately and rename as juniper1.img
* Again copy junos-binary.img in same folder and rename as juniper2.img
* Open GNS3 and go to Edit-->Preference-->quemu-->junos-->add the juniper1.img then press ok.
* Now drag and drop 2 juniper router in workspace and edit 2nd router config and change binary from juniper1.img into juniper2.img

* Also drag and drop cloud for local ethernet card integration.


Juniper1-192.168.200.2
Juniper2-192.168.200.1(192.168.1.3-which is in my host NIC card LAN)
Reachablility between all are present Now
--------------------------------------->I made simple connectivity config and now can run as many as u can and run MPLS and BGP and enjoy.

Once again thanks to gns3 team and all forum related to gns3 juniper discussion.



All the best.

Author:  kishorekannan [ Wed Jan 19, 2011 11:34 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Multiple Juniper router Lab in gns3

Hi Murali_Rajan,
Thanks for the wonderful presentation, materials and video. Thanks a lot once again

Author:  carltonp [ Thu Nov 10, 2011 10:36 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Multiple Juniper router Lab in gns3

Hello Murali_Rajan,

I can't thank you enough for clear presentation.

Cheers mate.

Carlton

Author:  liamomurchu [ Mon Jan 30, 2012 5:07 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Multiple Juniper router Lab in gns3

Hi!

Do you have a solution like this for Mac OS (Lion) as well?

Many thanks for your great Windows solution.

regards

Liam

Author:  zulcap [ Tue Jan 31, 2012 12:00 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Multiple Juniper router Lab in gns3

Hi,

I am having a problem during Junos OS installation in BSD OS. Here's the problem :

Create tar for the new jinstall package with modified checkpic
--------------------------------------------------------------
#tar zcvf /var/tmp/juniper.tgz *
tar: No match.

Appreciate if you could help me with this.

Thanks ;)

Author:  dzm3wr [ Wed Apr 25, 2012 4:02 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Multiple Juniper router Lab in gns3

Hello Muralirajanm,
Thanks in advance for the step-by-step instructions for building JUNOS lab.

I have a question regarding creating Junos Binary image...where do I type in the below command?
qemu-img.exe create junos-binary.img -fqcow2 8G?


Thanks.
Dan

Author:  zeshanbaig82 [ Fri Jun 14, 2013 9:10 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Multiple Juniper router Lab in gns3

Hi

I am having problem when i reach at below mentioned step:

Steps to untar the signed junos image in iso :

when i enter the command mount /cdrom it says "cd9660: /dev/acd0c: Invalid argument"
I will highly appreciate if any can help me out on this, as i have repeated the installation process many times, i have spend more than 10 hours on this.
Regards,
Zeshan

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/