GNS3
http://forum.gns3.net/

ASDM Connection Problem
http://forum.gns3.net/topic6168.html
Page 1 of 1

Author:  dvadams01 [ Wed Mar 27, 2013 5:25 pm ]
Post subject:  ASDM Connection Problem

I'm currently running GNS3 0.8.4-RC2 on Windows 7 using ASA Software Version 8.4(2) with Device Manager Version 6.4(5). I have the ASA OS installed and that's working fine and was able to TFTP the ASDM image to the ASA also with no problems. When I open a browser and try to access the http server to download ASDM to my desktop, I'm able to get to the ASDM webpage with no problems but as soon as I click on "Install ASDM Launcher and Run ASDM", I instantly get a "qemu.exe has stopped working, A problem caused the program to stop working". I've also shut down my personal firewall and still am experiencing the same problem and am stumped any assistance provided would be much appreciated, thanks

Author:  rednectar [ Wed Mar 27, 2013 7:55 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: ASDM Connection Problem

Tip: No need to post twice - I deleted your other identical post

Re ASDM: I don't have an answer, but have you put:
a)
boot system flash:asa8.2-k9.bin
asdm image flash:asdm-647.bin

(or similar) in your config, and

b) used the dir flash: command to make sure the files are indeed exactly there.

Author:  dvadams01 [ Wed Mar 27, 2013 8:58 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: ASDM Connection Problem

Appreciate the heads up on posting twice, thanks. As for the commands that you suggested I used the following

asdm image disk0:/asdm-647.bin


As for the boot command I didn't use that since I obtained these two files asa842-initrd.gz and asa842-vmlinuz from another posting so that
the ASA would work and wasn't aware that this command was still needed. Question, though my ASA is working other than trying to get to ASDM functioning, do I still need to have that command as part of the config since that file isn't currently showing in flash because of using the steps that was given in another posting with the two files listed above. Do I still need to TFTP 842 to my ASA so that I can add that boot command. When I try to use command without the image showing in flash I get an error message.

ASA1(config)# boot system flash:/asa842-8-k8.bin
INFO: Converting flash:/asa842-8-k8.bin to disk0:/asa842-8-k8.bin
ERROR: Unable to set this url, unsupported file system

Author:  rednectar [ Thu Mar 28, 2013 1:01 am ]
Post subject:  Re: ASDM Connection Problem

You are right, the boot system command doesn't make sense - sorry. What I should have asked is:

Can you see the asdm-647.bin file when you do a dir flash:?

And, do you have

asdm image flash:asdm-647.bin

in your config?

In any case, you seem to be doing better than me - I've just spent half an hour trying to get an ASA to stay up without rebooting. I may not get a chance to get back to look at this over Easter (and by then I'll have forgotten about it).

Hopefully one of our more robust Qemu experts may pick this one up.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/