GNS3
http://forum.gns3.net/

"an unhandled win32 exception occurred in gns3.exe" ...error
http://forum.gns3.net/topic6243.html
Page 1 of 1

Author:  ed101 [ Fri Apr 12, 2013 7:47 am ]
Post subject:  "an unhandled win32 exception occurred in gns3.exe" ...error

Hello guys.
I'm hoping someone here might can help me figure out why this error occurs. It happens every time I try to open a new topology. I can configure a topology alright, and set IDLE PC... but when I reboot, and try to open it - it crashes. Not sure if it has something to do with Visual Basic 2010, or a .NET version on the machine. I'm stumped, and ready to toss this machine outside.

Note: I can run it on Windows 7 just fine. Have no problems. Just can't get it work with XP.

Attachments:
GNS3 Error.png
GNS3 Error.png [ 18.46 KiB | Viewed 3443 times ]

Author:  grossmj [ Fri Apr 12, 2013 7:29 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: "an unhandled win32 exception occurred in gns3.exe" ...e

Do you have this error on Windows 8?

Author:  ed101 [ Fri Apr 12, 2013 9:37 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: "an unhandled win32 exception occurred in gns3.exe" ...e

Don't have Windows 8. Btw...I'm using the latest version of GNS3 (GNS3-0.8.3.1-all-in-one). Installation went smoothly. I was able to open the topology one time, and then closed it. Tried to open it again, and same error occurred. Tricky little bug... that's for sure.

From what I gather, it's crashing... and instead of "Dr. Watson" opening,...it's trying to get Visual Basic 2010 to debug it BEFORE the crash. Removing VB would most likely force Dr. Watson to default, and there would be no options of debugging. But then again, it would probably just instantly crash.

Something is causing the crash, and this error message doesn't give enough detail.

HMM??? Thinking! Could it be that GNS3 needs NOTEPAD to do debug a problem with a Config File?

Author:  grossmj [ Fri Apr 12, 2013 9:51 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: "an unhandled win32 exception occurred in gns3.exe" ...e

Hi,

Can you try to reinstall GNS3 using this version (0.8.3.1 recompiled)? -> http://gns3.googlecode.com/files/GNS3-0 ... mpiled.exe

Let me know if this fix your issue.

Author:  ed101 [ Sat Apr 13, 2013 7:02 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: "an unhandled win32 exception occurred in gns3.exe" ...e

Grossmj, it worked!! I appreciate your help. The recompiled version solved the crashing problem. Doesn't go down in flames anymore. I'm currently throwing different topologies at it, and it's working great!! What's in that version that's not in the one on the main page?

However, I'm having the dreaded 100% CPU problem. I've tried a couple of tricks I know:
(1) conf t, line con 0; no exec-timeout; setting IDLE PC
(2) clicking on a router to bring up terminal AFTER starting it.

Do you have any literature of the many problems that causes this issue? But hey, ...at least it's not CRASHING now. LoL. :-) Couldn't even open a topology before.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/