It is currently Mon Sep 28, 2020 7:26 pm


All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: console doesn't open
PostPosted: Mon Apr 22, 2013 2:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:22 pm
Posts: 2
i have this problem i use linux mint maya,
when i starting router or other device console doesn't open.
i checked the daynamips(test is okay) and other setttings as you said in this topic
please help me i'm student in ccna curse and nobody knows what i must to do!
thanks




Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: console doesn't open
PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2013 4:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 8:30 am
Posts: 35
try pinging 127.0.0.1 and localhost ..

If successful, check the console ports on the device from GNS and try telnetting from the linux terminal ..

telnet 127.0.0.1 <device port> or telnet localhost <device port>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: console doesn't open
PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2013 5:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 1:34 pm
Posts: 214
You may also want to check your terminal settings in GNS3. Go to Edit >Preferences > General > Terminal Settings. I believe Linux Mint uses the Gnome Terminal.

Best of Luck,
Jason

_________________
J.Neumann, GNS3 Contributor & Forum Moderator (Minion ID: sin.zx81.1981ad)
Author: Cisco Routers for Small Business (Apress)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: console doesn't open
PostPosted: Sat Apr 27, 2013 10:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2010 11:33 am
Posts: 1494
Location: Australia
Mint has it's own terminal (a derivative of gnome-terminal)

Follow Jason's advice and change your terminal settings to
Code:
mate-terminal -t %d -e 'telnet %h %p' >/dev/null 2>&1 &


[Edit: This advice applies to Linux Mint Nadia - MATE version - not sure about earlier versons]

_________________
RedNectar
http://rednectar.net
@rednectarchris
GNS3 WorkBench-a VMware image of Ubuntu with GNS3 and VPCS installed and a collection of exercises/labs


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: console doesn't open
PostPosted: Wed Jul 17, 2013 1:25 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2013 1:17 am
Posts: 1
Under Linux Mint Nadia with KDE running I had to use this:
/usr/bin/konsole --new-tab -p tabtitle=%d -e telnet %h %p >/dev/null 2>&1 &

The Linux Mint Mate terminal setting didn't work for me.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: console doesn't open
PostPosted: Wed Jul 17, 2013 2:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2010 11:33 am
Posts: 1494
Location: Australia
this would have only worked if you installed konsole (which is what I do)

FWIW - I've just started playing with ROXTerm - and I'm very impressed so far



_________________
RedNectar
http://rednectar.net
@rednectarchris
GNS3 WorkBench-a VMware image of Ubuntu with GNS3 and VPCS installed and a collection of exercises/labs


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO