GNS3
http://forum.gns3.net/

no NIO ethernet after add cloud
http://forum.gns3.net/topic828.html
Page 1 of 2

Author:  otmane [ Thu Apr 30, 2009 12:54 am ]
Post subject:  no NIO ethernet after add cloud

After configuring the cloud in my topology, I cannot see any interfaces under the Generic Ethernet NIO
i haven't a network in my network list device:
====================
Network adapters on this machine:

Unable to create lock file "c7200_i0_lock".
VM default: unable to create instance!
C7200: unable to create instance!

Use as follows:
F0/0 = NIO_gen_eth:\Device\NPF_{...}

Appuyez sur une touche pour continuer...
====================
i passed the cmd with adminstrator log
net start npf : item
then i added a hardware name MS loopback Adapter after i Restarted but any alteration
Am using windows vista

Any help we'll be appreciated.

Author:  dannywalker [ Sat May 02, 2009 7:26 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: no NIO ethernet after add cloud

Having a very similar issue.
Under the NIO Ethernet Tab there are no adapters listed.
The three router Initial tutuorial is working with static routes.
The process to connect to the real computer on pg 27 of the tutorial is where I'm working from.

Is there a way to overcome the problem by manually modifing the .net file for the project?

Is the any way to overcome the problem.

Thanks

After working on the further.


The network device list on my vista home version fails:

Network adapters on this machine:

PCAP: unable to find device list (No interfaces found! Make sure libpcap/WinPcap
is properly installed on the local machine.)


Use as follows:
F0/0 = NIO_gen_eth:\Device\NPF_{...}


Press any key to continue . . .

Going back to XP

Author:  djwilf [ Sun May 03, 2009 7:36 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: no NIO ethernet after add cloud

Under Vista you will have to run GNS3 as Administrator, right click on GNS3 and select run as.

You should now be able to access the Loopback, but the problem I have with it is it times out and stops responding !

Thanks

Author:  tnkflx [ Sat Jun 06, 2009 1:41 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: no NIO ethernet after add cloud

When I run GNS3.exe as administrator and try to configure a cloud, the following error is seen:

Traceback (most recent call last):

File "GNS3\NodeConfigurator.pyo", line 221, in __slotSelectionChanged

File "GNS3\NodeConfigurator.pyo", line 266, in __showConfigurationPage

File "GNS3\NodeConfigurator.pyo", line 317, in showConfigurationPageByName

File "GNS3\Ui\ConfigurationPages\Page_Cloud.pyo", line 415, in loadConfig

TypeError: 'NoneType' object is unsubscriptable


And I don't see anything under the cloud configuration.

Author:  gleishman [ Sat Jun 06, 2009 3:44 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: no NIO ethernet after add cloud

I am having the same problem. Cannot see any network adapters in the Node Configurator.

Have tried everything I can think of.

Never had any problems with XP.

Can anyone advise?

Author:  a.cadarso [ Tue Jun 23, 2009 9:39 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: no NIO ethernet after add cloud

I have the same problem,

I am running windows XP SP3, GNS3 0.6.1 but I cannot see any interfaces under the Generic Ethernet NIO.

When I execute "Network device list.cmd", I can see correctly all interfaces NIO_gen_eth:\Device\NPF_{...}

I have installed in the Same PC VMWARE 2.0 server, can this cause problems? With previous versions of GNS3 in other XP I had not any problem

Any Idea?

Author:  a.cadarso [ Tue Jun 30, 2009 10:40 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: no NIO ethernet after add cloud

I have found in exception.log file:

Traceback (most recent call last):

File "GNS3\Ui\ConfigurationPages\Page_Cloud.pyo", line 142, in slotAddGenEth

AttributeError: 'NoneType' object has no attribute 'group'

Any help would be very much appreciated

Author:  TheITJuggler [ Sun Sep 13, 2009 12:11 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: no NIO ethernet after add cloud

I had this happen to me when I installed GNS3/Dynamips/etc on D:\ instead of C:\. Even after specifying the correct locations for everything in GNS Preferences, it wouldn't work until I uninstalled, and re-installed on C:\

YMMV

Author:  hsyah [ Sat Dec 19, 2009 7:00 am ]
Post subject:  Re: no NIO ethernet after add cloud

Under the NIO Ethernet Tab there are no adapters listed.

1 manually modifing the .net file

=========================================================
autostart = True
[localhost:7200]
workingdir = C:\DOCUME~1\ADMINI~1\LOCALS~1\Temp
udp = 10000
[[ETHSW SW1]]
2 = access 1 nio_gen_eth:\Device\NPF_{E9F4E946-BF5A-4F60-A8CB-CE0E7AD20344}

x = -317.5
y = -109.0
[GNS3-DATA]
[[Cloud C1]]
x = 3.5
y = -134.0
connections = SW1:2:nio_gen_eth:\Device\NPF_{E9F4E946-BF5A-4F60-A8CB-CE0E7AD20344} :nio_gen_eth:\Device\NPF_{5E71A098-CF25-4735-826D-3DFFABC8EE8A} :nio_gen_eth:\Device\NPF_{E06695E7-D92B-467A-8CB3-3841F2C4A374} :nio_gen_eth:\Device\NPF_{E2DD34CD-214D-41AD-9F71-FAB6737EB9C5}=========================================================





Network device list.cmd


NIO_gen_eth:\Device\NPF_{5E71A098-CF25-4735-826D-3DFFABC8EE8A}
Name : tap1
Desciption: TAP-Win32 Adapter V8


NIO_gen_eth:\Device\NPF_{E06695E7-D92B-467A-8CB3-3841F2C4A374}
Name : tap2
Desciption: TAP-Win32 Adapter V8


NIO_gen_eth:\Device\NPF_{E2DD34CD-214D-41AD-9F71-FAB6737EB9C5}
Name : tap3
Desciption: TAP-Win32 Adapter V8


NIO_gen_eth:\Device\NPF_{1B027420-3949-4109-98C3-8F89EBF9E8C9}
Name : tap4
Desciption: TAP-Win32 Adapter V8

Author:  phungthaitrung [ Tue Mar 23, 2010 1:35 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: no NIO ethernet after add cloud

I would like to share with you my solution.

When you configure your topology, you can not bind your cloud to your network card because window 7 does not allow you do that. If you want to do that you should turn of the "Change user account control setting" feature of your account you are working with (this guy does not allow the "network list" program run). after that you must restart your laptop. It works !!!

Enjoy your lab topology !!!!

Page 1 of 2 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/