GNS3
http://forum.gns3.net/

How to configure SDM
http://forum.gns3.net/topic4285.html
Page 1 of 1

Author:  djegsi [ Sun Nov 13, 2011 9:08 pm ]
Post subject:  How to configure SDM

Hi

Can anyone help me how to configure or how to open sdm on ubuntu , l connected my pc to the router in gns3 but there is no way of opening sdm

Author:  mweisel [ Wed Dec 07, 2011 4:14 am ]
Post subject:  Re: How to configure SDM

djegsi,

You may have better luck installing the Cisco SDM in Ubuntu via Wine (http://www.winehq.org/download/ubuntu).

After you get Wine installed, you can use my blog post (http://binarynature.blogspot.com/2011/05/cisco-security-device-manager-on-mac.html) as a reference for the remainder of the configuration. The configuration for Mac OS X and Linux is very similar after you install the Wine package.

Author:  brezular [ Thu Dec 08, 2011 5:55 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How to configure SDM

Hi,
why don't you install Windows with SDM to Qemu image image? And you can run SDM from GNS3. No need to connect GNS3 to PC via cloud.
Just my 2 cents.

bye,

Author:  mweisel [ Thu Dec 08, 2011 10:31 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How to configure SDM

brezular,

QEMU is another path one could take. VirtualBox is also another.

My original goal for the "SDM on Mac/Linux" blog post was more of proof-of-concept than anything else. I've read quite a few requests over the years for a Linux (and Mac) version of the Cisco SDM, so I figured I would share my solution.

The argument could be made my solution is more resource efficient (cpu, ram, storage) and financially cheaper. Why spin up an instance of Windows when Wine can get the job done?

Ultimately, one should go with the solution that best meets their requirements.

Author:  brezular [ Fri Dec 09, 2011 12:57 am ]
Post subject:  Re: How to configure SDM

mweisel,

first of all, thanks for tutorial. Great job!

Cisco made progress with Linux applications but they are still some of them available for Windows only, such as SDM or Cisco IP Communicator. Have you tried to install IP Communicator on Wine? I remember I got it working but there was only one-way audio stream.

Your are right that SDM installed on Wine is more resources efficient than Qemu/VBox image, But even Wine is a mature project, functionality can differ from version to version. I mean when SDM is working in one version it doesn't have to work in another version - very true when one have automatic updates enabled.

In my opinion your Wine "way" is more convenient for Linux geeks than normal Cisco users. It could bring another problems. So many people have problem to get SDM working even on Windows.

I definitely try to install SDM on Wine as I need it for my CCNA - Security studies. Thank you for idea.

bye,

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/