GNS3
http://forum.gns3.net/

Problem with router console
http://forum.gns3.net/topic4904.html
Page 1 of 1

Author:  pointer [ Sat May 12, 2012 8:57 am ]
Post subject:  Problem with router console

Hi,
I've installed GNS3 on server with FreeBSD. On the beginnig there everything worked correctly - I could config router in console. But one time, when I was configuring router in console the console suddenly shout down.

Since that time, when I try to configure router console have been display such a comunicat:

Trying 127.0.0.1...
Connected to localhost.
Escape character is '^]'.
"IMPLEMENTATION" "dovecot"
"SIEVE" "fileinto reject envelope encoded-character vacation subaddress comparator-i;ascii-numeric relational regex imap4flags copy include variables body enotify environment mailbox date"
"SASL" "PLAIN LOGIN"
"STARTTLS"
"NOTIFY" "mailto"
"VERSION" "1.0"
OK "Dovecot ready."

NO "Error in MANAGESIEVE command received by server."



I add, that I haven't got root account on server.

Please help me!

Author:  grossmj [ Sat May 12, 2012 4:48 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Problem with router console

Hi,

Looks like you connected to a mail server running on your FreeBSD. I recommended you to change the Base Console parameter in GNS3 -> Preferences -> Dynamips, choose for instance 5000 ...

Author:  pointer [ Sun May 13, 2012 9:55 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Problem with router console

It works - thanks a lot!

Author:  pointer [ Sat May 26, 2012 5:33 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Problem with router console

Hi again,
it turns that the problem is not solved at all.

The router's configuration console turns off, about 1-2 minutes after I turn it on - each time when I want to configure router. After that when I for instance drop new router into workspace, then is appeared communicate - Dynamips error: "Connection lost".

Every time, after restarting program, I have to change Base port and after that I can drop router into workspace, and again, when I want to configure it I have above problem...

So far I reinstall Dynamips and reinstall GNS3 - it didn't help.

Please help me again

Author:  Khaled [ Sat May 26, 2012 9:55 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Problem with router console

See if you can use different port number for the routers. There may be a conflict between the console ports on your router and another program trying to use the same port.

Right click on the router, choose a console port number (say 3001), turn it off, then start it again and see if this would help!

Author:  grossmj [ Sun May 27, 2012 3:00 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Problem with router console

Hi,

The next release will handle cases when a port is not free to use.

Author:  pointer [ Sun May 27, 2012 11:15 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Problem with router console

Unfortunately it doesn't work - I've changed this port several times for different values, but it still losts a connection with dynamips.

Author:  Khaled [ Sun May 27, 2012 11:28 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Problem with router console

pointer wrote:
Unfortunately it doesn't work - I've changed this port several times for different values, but it still losts a connection with dynamips.


Does it work then it suddenly stop responding?

Have you tried running Dynamips using different port (Dynamips, not the routers). The default port is 7200.

Is there a firewall in your server which may stop incoming traffic to port 7200, or the ports your routers are using!

You say that you don't have root access to the server, are you allowed to run GNS3 on the server? Have you spoken to the administrator about such access? Does 'netstat' show you anything?

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/