GNS3
http://forum.gns3.net/

How to deal with DHCP on Cisco router
http://forum.gns3.net/topic10782.html
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Emma Jing [ Fri Jul 04, 2014 6:51 am ]
Post subject:  How to deal with DHCP on Cisco router

My problem below:
"-openUC (4.6.0.20131210053536 2013-12-10EST05:12:35
localhost.localdomain) update 9
-Polycom VVX 300 firmware 5.01"

My network admin prefers to run DHCP on the Cisco router at each site. I don't have any strong argument against that.Anyone have any tips or know of any issues they have run into when doing this?

Author:  DirkGently [ Fri Jul 11, 2014 5:19 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How to deal with DHCP on Cisco router

The only issue I ran into was running multiple DHCP servers via SVIs (and the only one that gave me trouble was the VOIP dhcp pool).

Running DHCP on cisco is easy, and it also allows you to guard against DHCP snooping/spoofing. I can understand why your boss would want to do it.

At the barest minimum, you just type this (we'll use 192.168.1.X/24 for an example)

ip dhcp excluded-addresses 192.168.1.1[start ip] 192.168.1.50 [end ip]

then create a pool:

ip dhcp pool [NAME]
network 192.168.1.0 255.255.255.0
ip default-router 192.168.1.1


and that's it. You can create more than one, especially if you're using an L3 switch. Then you can have a pool for each SVI.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/