GNS3
http://forum.gns3.net/

Routing traffic between Vbox machine, Vrouter & live network
http://forum.gns3.net/topic6346.html
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Durzo [ Fri May 10, 2013 4:16 pm ]
Post subject:  Routing traffic between Vbox machine, Vrouter & live network

So, I'm probably missing something really simple, but can't seem to find the issue myself and was hoping someone could help me out as I've been banging my head against the wall for a little bit now...

Have an Ubuntu VirtualBox hooked up to a 3600 series virtual router on GNS3, and my virtual router hooked up to my home network. I can ping all of my home network devices from my virtual router, and my ubuntu vb can ping my router, but my ubuntu vbox cannot ping devices in my home network...

My home network runs a 10.0.0.x/25 private scheme and the ubuntu vbox is running 172.16.0.x/24.

Image

Here is the current router config - as you can see I put a static default route for traffic to go out to my home network.

Building configuration...

Current configuration : 796 bytes
!
version 12.3
service timestamps debug datetime msec
service timestamps log datetime msec
no service password-encryption
!
hostname R1
!
boot-start-marker
boot-end-marker
!
!
no aaa new-model
ip subnet-zero
!
!
ip cef
no ip domain lookup
ip domain name lab.local
!
ip audit po max-events 100
!
!
interface FastEthernet0/0
ip address 172.16.0.1 255.255.255.0
duplex auto
speed auto
!
interface FastEthernet1/0
ip address 10.0.0.254 255.255.255.128
duplex auto
speed auto
!
no ip http server
no ip http secure-server
ip classless
ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 FastEthernet0/0
!
!
line con 0
etc...


First one to fix it gets an ascii doughnut!

Author:  Durzo [ Fri May 10, 2013 6:46 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Routing traffic between Vbox machine, Vrouter & live net

Verified IP tables are blank - no FW up between virtual NW or vBox and host. Cloud is configured w/ NIC to my machine. I'm guessing that by the number of viewers I've either missed something really obvious that no one wants to tell me or... it's not obvious. Bug with GNS3?

Author:  claydon_dan [ Fri May 10, 2013 9:12 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Routing traffic between Vbox machine, Vrouter & live net

Right... the problem is most likely going to lie with the packets not knowing how to get back to the 172.16.0.0/24 network.

Have a read my replies in this post and you should be able to get somewhere.

Remember a packet needs to be able to travel in both directions, just because it travels one doesn't mean it will find its way back - this is wireshark comes in handy.

Author:  Durzo [ Sat May 11, 2013 4:07 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Routing traffic between Vbox machine, Vrouter & live net

Thank you - that thread was quite helpful! To add onto what I found there -I had to manually add some static routes to both my virtual gateway router, my virtual box ubuntu computer, my host computer that I'm running GNS3 on and my commercial home router repeatedly pointing back and forth to the various networks (live and virtual). Also - if you're setting up a static route on your virtual gateway router - do not set the default route to go out your gateway - instead set it up to go to the next hop (default gateway) after your computer that's running GNS3.

PS - Wireshark definitely helped

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/