GNS3
http://forum.gns3.net/

Cisco IOS XRv Software
http://forum.gns3.net/topic8394.html
Page 1 of 8

Author:  maxim40 [ Thu Feb 06, 2014 5:15 pm ]
Post subject:  Cisco IOS XRv Software

Released yesterday...

http://software.cisco.com/download/rele ... ype=latest

Author:  grossmj [ Thu Feb 06, 2014 6:33 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Cisco IOS XRv Software

Thanks for the info!

I've quickly tested the VM in VirtualBox without success.

I've not much time to test it more so anyone who any input is welcome to post here :)

Author:  ezziin [ Fri Feb 07, 2014 9:11 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Cisco IOS XRv Software

I was able to test it very successfully on Virtualbox. This will be now a new turn Spl for CCIE SP candidates.....

Attachments:
cisco ios XR.png
cisco ios XR.png [ 59.88 KiB | Viewed 27525 times ]

Author:  grossmj [ Fri Feb 07, 2014 11:03 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Cisco IOS XRv Software

Excellent news! Have you changed any VirtualBox settings? If you have time, can you quickly write some instructions? That's would help everyone.

Actually the default settings work. Just import the .ova in VirtualBox, then configure the VM in the GNS3 preferences (don't forget to enable console support), drop it on the scene, start and use the console to connect to it. Easy! All you need is lot of RAM to create a decent network :)

Also, the VM uses quite a lot of CPU power when booting (until you get the "SYSTEM CONFIGURATION COMPLETED" message).

Thanks!

Author:  grossmj [ Sat Feb 08, 2014 5:34 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Cisco IOS XRv Software

Some more interesting information about XRv and the 3 offerings (demo, simulation and vRR) : https://supportforums.cisco.com/thread/2238222

Author:  ezziin [ Sun Feb 09, 2014 2:04 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Cisco IOS XRv Software

grossmj wrote:
Excellent news! Have you changed any VirtualBox settings? If you have time, can you quickly write some instructions? That's would help everyone.

Actually the default settings work. Just import the .ova in VirtualBox, then configure the VM in the GNS3 preferences (don't forget to enable console support), drop it on the scene, start and use the console to connect to it. Easy! All you need is lot of RAM to create a decent network :)

Also, the VM uses quite a lot of CPU power when booting (until you get the "SYSTEM CONFIGURATION COMPLETED" message).

Thanks!


Reason i have created new VM because, Original come with bit heave configs... just check out the setting of config after importing it....

Author:  GNS33046 [ Fri Feb 14, 2014 4:22 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Cisco IOS XRv Software

How long does it take to boot up? It is burning my i7 for last hour and all I see is "Booting IOS XRv".

Author:  grossmj [ Fri Feb 14, 2014 5:43 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Cisco IOS XRv Software

Do you use a console to connect to the VM?

Author:  GNS33046 [ Fri Feb 14, 2014 5:57 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Cisco IOS XRv Software

grossmj wrote:
Do you use a console to connect to the VM?

I just ran iosxrv-demo-5.1.1.ova in VirtualBox. I thought that it'll bring me the router's prompt like with CSR1000v.
But it works with direct console connection to GNS3, thanks (:

Author:  ppsilva2 [ Mon Feb 17, 2014 7:12 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Cisco IOS XRv Software

Hi
I have a problem with XRv in VirtualBox and GNS3.
Since the beginning I was able to start XRv in VirtualBox and connect it to GNS3 but each time I close the project and restart it again I lose connectivity between the virtual machine and the routers whether I have it directly connected or connected by an GNS3 ethernet switch.
I have to disconnect all the connections from the VM and reconnect it again.

I am running GNS3 0.8.6, VirtualBox 4.3.6 and the host is a Windows 7 64 bit.

The VM interfaces were configured as "Host-only adapters", Intel 82545EM, and cable connected.
One thing I noticed was that, when I run VBoxManage to see information about the VM, the interfaces changed to "Not attached" on the first interface and to "Generic Driver" on the others.

Also a lot of people is complaining about the same problem ( in certcollection.org ).

Is there any solution to this ? Am I doing something wrong ? Is it a VirtualBox/GNS3 integration problem ?

Thank you
Paulo

Page 1 of 8 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/