GNS3
http://forum.gns3.net/

Cisco IOS XRv Software
http://forum.gns3.net/topic8394-60.html
Page 7 of 8

Author:  achea [ Wed Jul 09, 2014 7:48 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Cisco IOS XRv Software

Folks !,

the new version 5.2.0 has been released, I am wondering what are the new features !

Author:  urthstripe [ Sat Jul 26, 2014 3:31 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Cisco IOS XRv Software

Need help.

I'm getting the error below when starting the VirtualBox guest device on GNS3.

"Cisco_IOS_XR: error from server 127.0.0.1:11525: 209-unable to start instance 'Cisco_IOS_XR'


Im using the below:

Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Virtualbox 4.3.12
GNS 0.8.6
iosxrv-k9-demo-5.2.0

Author:  pieces of eight [ Sat Jul 26, 2014 4:43 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Cisco IOS XRv Software

urthstripe wrote:
"Cisco_IOS_XR: error from server 127.0.0.1:11525: 209-unable to start instance 'Cisco_IOS_XR'


That could mean almost anything. Can you start the VM from virtualbox?

Author:  urthstripe [ Sun Jul 27, 2014 2:01 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Cisco IOS XRv Software

Thanks for your help mate.

Yes. but I only get this screen after choosing IOS XRV on menu. Can I console into it without using GNS3 to test it?


another weird thing, after getting this error, my Virtualbox Network Settings removes the "Host-Only Adapter" setting. Tried a lot of versions, still getting the same problem.

Attachments:
not attached.PNG
not attached.PNG [ 32.63 KiB | Viewed 6092 times ]
XRV.PNG
XRV.PNG [ 18.38 KiB | Viewed 6094 times ]

Author:  pieces of eight [ Sun Jul 27, 2014 5:48 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Cisco IOS XRv Software

You can use nc to connect to the vm:

nc -U /path/to/socket

but you'd need to install netmap.

What are your settings for the VM? 3g ram, enough space, etc, etc?

VBoxManage showvminfo [VMNAME]

Author:  urthstripe [ Mon Jul 28, 2014 1:30 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Cisco IOS XRv Software

yeah it works. I used NTCP + SecureCRT and I was able to console in. Something with the Virtuabox integration with GNS3 is not working for me.


The attached images below are my session settings before and after running the Vbox node in GNS3. it removes the network settings for some reason.


!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! NO root-system username is configured. Need to configure root-system username. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

--- Administrative User Dialog ---


Enter root-system username:

Attachments:
sysinfo.PNG
sysinfo.PNG [ 28.17 KiB | Viewed 6074 times ]
after-sysinfo.PNG
after-sysinfo.PNG [ 27.75 KiB | Viewed 6074 times ]

Author:  pieces of eight [ Mon Jul 28, 2014 7:27 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Cisco IOS XRv Software

I think that's normal - the network settings thing. I've had that happen with OS guests I was messing around with in GNS3, too.

Can you start *any* virtualbox VM in GNS3?

Is there any chance that the VM is running already? GNS3 8.3 doesn't do a very good job of actually shutting VMs down on windows IME. If you have virtualbox open, can you try again with the VM definitely in a shutdown state and then start it from GNS3?

Author:  rpmf53 [ Tue Jul 29, 2014 1:41 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Cisco IOS XRv Software

Hi,

Need some help in connecting two XRV back to back

I have a setup with 2x XRV and a couple of 7200 and some 3725 in GNS3.
My issue is I can connect the XRV's to the 7200 and the 3725 without any issue, even if the two XRV connect through the 3725 "switch", but I can't connect the two XRV back to back in GNS3.
In the XRV#1 the Gi 0/0/0/4 is connected to XRC#2 to Gi 0/0/0/4 , but I can't ping, the other interfaces that go through the 3725 "switch" work .
I am using VirtualBox for the XRV.

Have you encountered this issue before ?
any help will be appreciated

regards

Author:  pieces of eight [ Tue Jul 29, 2014 3:16 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Cisco IOS XRv Software

There's the off-by-one issue that the mgmt int causes - eth0 gets thrown out. There's also the connect/reconnect issue that needs to be taken care of sometimes. I posted a CLI solution earlier in this thread. I have also seen, rarely, that the interfaces don't map 1:1 - not sure what causes it. A switch could make this transparent, assuming you're not using vlans. AndreP pointed out that CDP can be useful in these cases.

Author:  rpmf53 [ Tue Jul 29, 2014 6:26 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Cisco IOS XRv Software

On those specific interfaces I have already tried the reconnect workaround without success.
It can be the case that the ports are not 1:1, all the other ports that are working are in trunk mode so the switch can be hiding this issue. I am going to try different port combinations.

thanks.

Page 7 of 8 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/