GNS3
http://forum.gns3.net/

Using GNS3 to resolve networking issues at office
http://forum.gns3.net/topic9620.html
Page 1 of 1

Author:  mwodin [ Wed Apr 30, 2014 2:24 am ]
Post subject:  Using GNS3 to resolve networking issues at office

I was interested in understanding the network at my dad's business. Unfortunately, from the beginning their have been problems one after another. This time, after having someone overhaul the previous configuration, the entire network has slowed down substantially. Here is an example of what is going on almost daily, but not regularly - in the attachment.

I have had my eye on the hop that includes the loopback. I've read more into it but since I have physically been into the office recently it's still a mystery to me as what application it has on the network, and why it could be slowing everyone down.

I was hoping I could use GNS3 to understand and eventually troubleshoot the network in the office, and eventually reconfigure everything - but first I need a good visualization - something I know GNS3 could help me with.

Could I get some pointers as to what might be going on with the network issue, and further - could you help by pointing me in the right directions and steps to getting GNS3 to "see" the real network including it's devices? I will assume there's going to be a lot of manually entering information, which is fine. Just need some clarity. I tend to get mental fog quite easily.

Attachments:
File comment: Ping is very high, DL is slightly less than normal (as usual)
pingproblem.png
pingproblem.png [ 13.66 KiB | Viewed 1760 times ]

Author:  jacobleemccoy [ Mon May 12, 2014 1:29 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Using GNS3 to resolve networking issues at office

mwodin, I like that you want to use GNS3 to diag your network issue. (and here is the "but") but, what you are describing sounds like it is a network specific application performance issue. in other words; if you modeled that network in GNS3 you may not get the same issue. then you would spend more time trying to replicate the issue then trying to find the real issue on the real network.

Now what you can do is use GNS3 to practice some techniques that would help you in finding the issue. for example, if you have never worked with Cisco netflow or NBAR you could use GNS3 to learn the ins and outs of those two technologies and then once you are good and ready you can start collecting data from the live network.

If you still want to build out the network topology you will need to get access to the devices and then start documenting. OR hopefully the admin who built the network has all of that stored in a nice neat folder that you can use to help you on your way.

Author:  zero [ Mon May 12, 2014 8:25 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Using GNS3 to resolve networking issues at office

i agree with jacobleemccoy and one thing you can also do in to list all the equipment in your DAD's office and make a diagram of that network and in the diagram itself try to find the issue you may feel can occur

then check there configuration if you are able to understand office requirmnet

mean while go as per jacobleemccoy word

best of luck

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/