GNS3
http://forum.gns3.net/

BUG - allows invalid characters in dynmips device names
http://forum.gns3.net/topic11670.html
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Jason [ Tue Aug 19, 2014 6:24 pm ]
Post subject:  BUG - allows invalid characters in dynmips device names

GNS3 Early Release (ER) version 1.0beta1 on linux.

There seems to be no sanity check for invalid characters in router hostname, "R1 (test)" for example.

This may not be a mistake, but you can name a dynamips router anything you'd like, and when you boot the router it will try to apply the invalid characters to the hostname and display errors.

-Jason

Author:  grossmj [ Tue Aug 19, 2014 6:39 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: BUG - allows invalid characters in dynmips device names

Hi Jason,

You are right, there is no sanity check. I did the exact same test and was able to start the router, the problem seems to occur within IOS only:

Code:
hostname R1 (test)
            ^
% Invalid input detected at '^' marker.


I will implement a sanity check soon. I am sure I could find the info myself but do you know what other characters are not supported by IOS?

Thanks,

Author:  grossmj [ Tue Aug 19, 2014 9:23 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: BUG - allows invalid characters in dynmips device names

I've decided not being lazy and here is what I think is the answer:

Quote:
They must start with a letter, end with a letter or digit, and have as interior characters only letters, digits, and hyphens. Names must be 63 characters or fewer.


Cheers,

Author:  grossmj [ Tue Aug 19, 2014 10:33 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: BUG - allows invalid characters in dynmips device names

Quote:
They must start with a letter, end with a letter or digit, and have as interior characters only letters, digits, and hyphens. Names must be 63 characters or fewer.


However, this doesn't seem to be exact anymore. I ran some tests on IOS and I was able to use _ and digits wherever I want.... Thanks Cisco!

Author:  grossmj [ Tue Aug 19, 2014 10:51 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: BUG - allows invalid characters in dynmips device names

This should be fixed now. I only accept alphanumeric characters, underscores and hyphens for IOS and IOU.

Author:  Jason [ Wed Aug 20, 2014 5:30 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: BUG - allows invalid characters in dynmips device names

Great, that was fast! :D

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/