GNS3
http://forum.gns3.net/

Alternative method for running GNS3 1.0 on Debian/Ubuntu
http://forum.gns3.net/topic9168-10.html
Page 2 of 2

Author:  sledge121 [ Tue Apr 15, 2014 11:13 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Alternative method for running GNS3 1.0 on Debian/Ubuntu

claydon_dan wrote:
sledge121 wrote:
- a changed hostid using a bash script from here http://fazlearefin.blogspot.ro/2013/03/ ... hosts.html The reason I changed my hostid to 00000000 was I couldn't get the python licence script working, it just kept printing "*******************************" which was not much use.

To use the pyhton license script without changing your hostname/hostid you need python2.7, which won't be installed by default in the chroot... but the main Debian install will probably have it installed already, which means you can generate the license file there as the hostname/hostid will be the same both inside and outside of the chroot



Ah, that expalains it, I was trying to run it with python3 inside the chroot, would be good if somebody could write a python3 version of it as a few ppl have been caught out with the same issue from all the forums I was trawling through.

Author:  claydon_dan [ Tue Apr 15, 2014 12:59 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Alternative method for running GNS3 1.0 on Debian/Ubuntu

sledge121 wrote:
claydon_dan wrote:
sledge121 wrote:
- a changed hostid using a bash script from here http://fazlearefin.blogspot.ro/2013/03/ ... hosts.html The reason I changed my hostid to 00000000 was I couldn't get the python licence script working, it just kept printing "*******************************" which was not much use.

To use the pyhton license script without changing your hostname/hostid you need python2.7, which won't be installed by default in the chroot... but the main Debian install will probably have it installed already, which means you can generate the license file there as the hostname/hostid will be the same both inside and outside of the chroot



Ah, that expalains it, I was trying to run it with python3 inside the chroot, would be good if somebody could write a python3 version of it as a few ppl have been caught out with the same issue from all the forums I was trawling through.


See my post here: post28850.html#p28850

Author:  sledge121 [ Tue Apr 15, 2014 8:57 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Alternative method for running GNS3 1.0 on Debian/Ubuntu

Well, it all works, I didn't need to change any gns3server settings as it already listens on any IP address shown with the '0.0.0.0:8000' output below, I was able to point my gns3 client at the server and use the IOU IOS, next is to recreate this on a VM, either Amazon or Google as I have heard they are having a price war at the moment, thanks to anybody who helped me with this.

Rick


(jessie)[email protected]:~$ gns3server
GNS3 server version 1.0a2.dev3
Copyright (c) 2007-2014 GNS3 Technologies Inc.
Running with Python 3.3.5 and has PID 3822
[I 140415 20:51:55 base:122] dynamips module running with PID 3824
[I 140415 20:51:55 base:75] ZeroMQ client (dynamips) connecting to 127.0.0.1:38328
[I 140415 20:51:55 server:206] ZeroMQ server listening to 127.0.0.1:38328
[I 140415 20:51:55 base:122] iou module running with PID 3825
Starting server on 0.0.0.0:8000 (Tornado 3.1.1)
[I 140415 20:51:55 base:75] ZeroMQ client (iou) connecting to 127.0.0.1:38328

Author:  josephraa [ Tue Apr 15, 2014 9:32 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Alternative method for running GNS3 1.0 on Debian/Ubuntu

sledge121 wrote:
Well, it all works, I didn't need to change any gns3server settings as it already listens on any IP address shown with the '0.0.0.0:8000' output below, I was able to point my gns3 client at the server and use the IOU IOS, next is to recreate this on a VM, either Amazon or Google as I have heard they are having a price war at the moment, thanks to anybody who helped me with this.

Rick


(jessie)[email protected]:~$ gns3server
GNS3 server version 1.0a2.dev3
Copyright (c) 2007-2014 GNS3 Technologies Inc.
Running with Python 3.3.5 and has PID 3822
[I 140415 20:51:55 base:122] dynamips module running with PID 3824
[I 140415 20:51:55 base:75] ZeroMQ client (dynamips) connecting to 127.0.0.1:38328
[I 140415 20:51:55 server:206] ZeroMQ server listening to 127.0.0.1:38328
[I 140415 20:51:55 base:122] iou module running with PID 3825
Starting server on 0.0.0.0:8000 (Tornado 3.1.1)
[I 140415 20:51:55 base:75] ZeroMQ client (iou) connecting to 127.0.0.1:38328

Ah, good catch. When I was looking at my own output, I didn't notice that line; I just saw all the lines with 127.0.0.1 and assumed that's what gns3server was listening on.

Page 2 of 2 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/