GNS3
http://forum.gns3.net/

GNS3 v1.0a5 update to v1.0a6 FAILS!
http://forum.gns3.net/topic10248.html
Page 1 of 2

Author:  mujtaba.mir9 [ Sat May 31, 2014 6:14 pm ]
Post subject:  GNS3 v1.0a5 update to v1.0a6 FAILS!

Alright, let me keep this simple and to the point.

I am using GNS3 v1.a5 right now and as per the GNS3 guys, you can update it to the new version (v1.0a6) within the VMWare only. (Don't worry you will get an email on Monday about the a6 being available). Back to the point, as they have asked to update the VM by "$ pip3 install gns3-server==1.0a6" (without quotes) I tried doing so but it fails and comes back with a message saying the command wasn't found. Linux is Greek to me so I really don't know what to do and how to find a work around for it.

Can anyone help me out with this? Find attached a screenshot of the VM box running v1.0a5.

I would highly appreciate some help. Thanks and best regards.

Mujtaba.

Attachments:
File comment: Snap
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG [ 27.61 KiB | Viewed 4592 times ]

Author:  grossmj [ Sat May 31, 2014 8:46 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: GNS3 v1.0a5 update to v1.0a6 FAILS!

Hi,

I think you are not using the official VM, anyway you need access to Internet from the VM + pip3 that you can install using:

Code:
sudo apt-get install python3-pip


Good luck,

Author:  mujtaba.mir9 [ Sat May 31, 2014 11:07 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: GNS3 v1.0a5 update to v1.0a6 FAILS!

Hey, thanks for the prompt reply.

I am using the official version, got it downloaded from the membership page only. Not sure about the PIP3 thing. Do I need Python installed on my laptop or something? The command that you asked to enter doesn't seem to work as well. Maybe the attached snapshot can help.

Thanks and best regards.

Attachments:
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG [ 17.01 KiB | Viewed 4579 times ]

Author:  abort [ Sun Jun 01, 2014 7:16 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: GNS3 v1.0a5 update to v1.0a6 FAILS!

You do not need sudo when launching commands as a root...

Author:  mujtaba.mir9 [ Sun Jun 01, 2014 8:16 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: GNS3 v1.0a5 update to v1.0a6 FAILS!

Did not add sudo this time and it did work only till the time it got caught up at resolving names.

Can you give me the code to add DNS Server to the VM Box?

Author:  abort [ Sun Jun 01, 2014 9:41 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: GNS3 v1.0a5 update to v1.0a6 FAILS!

put your DNS server into /etc/resolv.conf, for example from my Linux box this file contains:
Code:
nameserver 192.168.110.1
nameserver 8.8.8.8

Author:  mujtaba.mir9 [ Mon Jun 02, 2014 6:41 am ]
Post subject:  Re: GNS3 v1.0a5 update to v1.0a6 FAILS!

Thanks man. I tried this code and tried to open the file. I got PERMISSION DENIED.

You mind accessing my VM box by teamviewer and fix it for me please?

Author:  mujtaba.mir9 [ Mon Jun 02, 2014 6:56 am ]
Post subject:  Re: GNS3 v1.0a5 update to v1.0a6 FAILS!

I fixed the Permission Denied thing by this piece of code:

Code:
chmod +rxw /etc/resolv.conf


But now I don't know how to edit this file. Maybe the screenshot can help.

Attachments:
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG [ 21.26 KiB | Viewed 4541 times ]

Author:  abort [ Mon Jun 02, 2014 7:15 am ]
Post subject:  Re: GNS3 v1.0a5 update to v1.0a6 FAILS!

You have to EDIT contents, not EXECUTING it.
you have to invoke any editor, for example "nano /etc/resolv.conf". (I suppose you have "nano" editor installed).
By putting just "/etc/resolv.conf" you're trying to RUN that file - it WILL NOT WORK, as that file is not a script of any language (like shell script, perl script, python script or ANY script). It is simply a DATA...
Or, you can type (do it as root user - with "#" prompt):
Code:
echo "nameserver 8.8.8.8" > /etc/resolv.conf
echo "nameserver 8.8.4.4" >> /etc.resolv.conf

Author:  mujtaba.mir9 [ Mon Jun 02, 2014 7:25 am ]
Post subject:  Re: GNS3 v1.0a5 update to v1.0a6 FAILS!

The echo command worked and I have the DNS Server configured now.

Thanks. But now the problem comes with installing Python. I still can't resolve the cdn.debain.net domain.

Page 1 of 2 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/