GNS3
http://forum.gns3.net/

Problem in GNS3 VirtualBox running in background
http://forum.gns3.net/topic11824.html
Page 1 of 1

Author:  enunez [ Tue Sep 02, 2014 7:29 pm ]
Post subject:  Problem in GNS3 VirtualBox running in background

Hello guys,
I would like to get some help with a problem that i have. This is my situation, that when I "start" to run my topology (in this case a Router connected to a virtualbox) it actually runs pretty good, i don't have any kind of errors, but the problem is the virtualbox host runs in background and i can't get access to control the virtual machine, i don't know how could get access to the virtual machine and why this is happening, i'm going to atach an screenshot.

Thanks in advance,
best regards

I'm running this in windows 8.1, GNS3 0.8.7, virtualbox 4.1.6 and the virtual machine Windows xp SP2.

Attachments:
Example.jpg
Example.jpg [ 226.43 KiB | Viewed 2735 times ]

Author:  grossmj [ Tue Sep 02, 2014 7:40 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Problem in GNS3 VirtualBox running in background

Hi,

I think I know what it is, just deactivate "Start in headless mode (without GUI)" for your VM in the GNS3 preferences.

Regards,

Author:  DirkGently [ Tue Sep 02, 2014 7:50 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Problem in GNS3 VirtualBox running in background

One thing I've noticed (this probably doesn't apply in your case), but I have to turn off the Virtualbox manager, add the VM hosts to the topology, and let GNS3 start them. Then they interact in the simulator just fine.



/Just in case anybody ran into that problem.

Author:  enunez [ Tue Sep 02, 2014 8:25 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Problem in GNS3 VirtualBox running in background

@grossmj

You were right!! Thanks for your help and time!

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/